The Hasselblad Masters 2021 submission period is now closed.

Currently, the Hasselblad Internal Jury is voting to select the finalists from each category.

All finalists from each category of the Hasselblad Masters will be announced in September 2021.

The Hasselblad Masters is one of the world’s most prestigious professional photographic competitions, giving acclaimed professionals, as well as aspiring newcomers, the chance to make their mark in the world of photography.

* A Hasselblad camera is not required to enter the competition. Submissions can be made using any camera brand.


The competition consists of 12 categories. Each entry must consist of three (3) photos in each category that you wish to enter, and you’re allowed to enter as many categories as you like, with each entry judged on the three submitted images in that category.

New Category For Masters 2021

For 80 years, Hasselblad cameras have captured numerous photographs that have become known as classic, iconic images, and therefore, are part of our heritage. NASA; space; 500C; Victor & Erna Hasselblad; Scandinavian design; legendary photographers and the faces of history they’ve documented – these words are all part of our Swedish heritage. To commemorate Hasselblad’s 80th anniversary with this new category, use your creativity to show us photographs that celebrate Hasselblad’s heritage. Gain inspiration by visiting our history section here.



Hasselblad Masters are carefully selected by three juries – the Hasselblad Internal Jury, the Hasselblad Public Jury and the Hasselblad Grand Jury.

Hasselblad Internal Jury

This jury consists of Hasselblad employees who are experts in the field of photography and cameras. The task of this jury is to select the 120 Hasselblad Masters finalists (the top 10 in each of the 12 categories) through an internal voting system.

Hasselblad Public Jury

The Hasselblad Public Jury will select their favourites from each category. These selected entries will then score points towards the Hasselblad Grand Jury vote, with the Public Jury therefore effectively acting as a "seat" on the main jury.

Hasselblad Grand Jury

The Hasselblad Grand Jury features members of the industry's most respected photographers, established editors and industry experts, along with previous winners of the Masters competition.


The Hasselblad Masters competition is open to all photographers who have been active professionals* for more than three years. Submissions can be shot on any digital camera from any camera brand and in any format (must have a minimum of 16 megapixels) as well as using drone cameras or film cameras. Entries shot on smartphone and tablet cameras are not eligible.

*The Project//21 category is an exception. Project//21 is open to all amateur photographers, students, assistants and young professionals 21 years old and under at the close of the competition submission period. Proof of age will be required.

When entering the Hasselblad Masters, you may submit entries for as many categories as you like. You must submit 3 images (per category) that fit the theme of the category and best showcase your skill and creativity. The images submitted should be JPG files (max 10MB) and a minimum of 1000px wide.


Every Hasselblad Masters winner earns the title of “Hasselblad Master”. They will also receive a medium format mirrorless Hasselblad camera to keep.

In addition, the winners will shoot for a collaborative project with Hasselblad. This project is then published in the commemorative Hasselblad Masters book as well as digitally on all Hasselblad channels.

Medium Format Mirrorless

Hasselblad Camera

Previous Masters