航拍类别 获奖者

Jorge de la Torriente

Jorge De La Torriente 在迈阿密出生并长大,他的父母分别来自古巴和佛罗里达,对于自己的摄影风格,Jorge De La Torriente 认为自己的作品是现代极简主义。

Self-portrait, 2018
© Jorge de la Torriente

一次偶然的机会,从此热爱摄影
Jorge De La Torriente 毕业于康奈尔大学,取得了建筑学学士学位,虽然并非摄影专业科班出身,但参加学校在罗马开设的摄影课程之后,这段经历使他对摄影产生了浓厚的兴趣。

逐渐深入摄影这个领域
我的摄影事业开始于数码相机兴起的初期,作为非专业风光摄影师探索和体验这个领域所带来的乐趣。随着我逐渐熟练摄影这项技能,我试图用摄影获得的酬劳,支付我购买的器材和旅行拍摄的费用。从当地的艺术展开始,很快意识到我从事的摄影工作有着非常不错的前途。几年后,我找到了一位商业合作伙伴进行合作并出售我的作品,最初只是陈列于 Key west 小型画廊,后来 2013 年的时候,建立了自己的画廊De La Gallery。

将所描绘的事物转化为一幅图像,让你对看到的事物或经历的事情的本质产生质疑,让观众获得一种视觉上的体验。

Q:你会如何描述你的摄影风格?
A:现代极简风格。

同一样的事物,不一样的视觉体验
我的灵感来源于建筑与设计方面的学术背景和超现实主义艺术,以及曾触发我灵感的艺术家,如 Rene Magritte、James Turrell、Hiroshi Sugimoto 和 Murray Fredericks 等等。将所描绘的事物转化为一幅图像,让你对看到的事物或经历的事情的本质产生质疑,让观众获得一种视觉上的体验,是激励我创作新作品的动力。

高ISO+手持的夜晚航拍,很多人觉得不可思议
城市的黑夜里,连绵的路灯创建了连接建筑物的网格和路径,这些点点滴滴组成了一座城市,也为我带来了创新的灵感和基础。哈苏大师创作项目,我选择搭乘直升机在空中来拍摄这座城市,并运用创意的风格赋予作品独特的内涵是这一系列作品的亮点。

捕捉这些图像是对我的摄影技术和哈苏 H6D-100c 性能的考验,使用高 ISO 感光度(大多数图像是在 ISO 6400 下拍摄的)和夜间飞行的手持拍摄(稳定器提供帮助),打破了技术创新的极限,哈苏也让这种拍摄手法有了实现的可能。

创新,有时候需要反其道而行
使用哈苏 H6D-100c 给我留下了深刻的印象,它确实给我带来了最佳画质,我对它非常爱惜,因为我知道自己使用的是目前最好的相机之一。如果拍摄出一张构图、画质、色彩等都完美的照片,那么输出的文件效果一定会令人惊叹。即使在 ISO 6400 下处理原始文件,依然可以在图像中显示出令人难以置信的细节。一般而言,大多数人都不会选择使用中画幅相机在直升机上进行手持拍摄,然而在高 ISO 的情况下,H6D-100c 输出的图像依然拥有至臻画质,你有足够的理由相信它能够胜任这些场景。由于直升机的抖动容易导致的画面模糊,我不得不用图片欠曝来保证足够高的快门速度,然后通过后期进行调整。当我尝试这种拍摄手法时,还在担心这种方式是否可行,但在尝试新方法后的几周,我体验到使用哈苏的好处。在后期风格上,我也反其道而行,为了平衡明亮的高光和黑暗的阴影,我没有调亮欠曝的原始图像,而是把它们统一变暗再提高对比度,这种处理形式让我发现了一种新的风格,也整整呼应了本次创作项目的主题 —— 创新。

哈苏大师赛 2018

AERIAL CATEGORY WINNER

Jorge de la Torriente

Born and raised in Miami, Florida to Cuban parents, Jorge de la Torriente describes himself as a modern and minimalist fine art photographer.

Self-portrait, 2018
© Jorge de la Torriente

What is your background in photography?
I graduated from Cornell University with a bachelor’s degree in architecture. I don’t have a formal education in photography, but I did take a photography course during a semester abroad in Rome. This began my serious interest in photography. 

How did you get to where you are today in your photographic career?
My career in photography began as an amateur landscape photographer exploring and experimenting during the early years of the photographic digital revolution. As my interest and skills progressed I began to look for ways to monetize my work to pay for my equipment and travel. I began with local art shows and quickly realized that there was a market for the type of work I was creating. After a couple of years, I found a business partner who was in the framing business. We decided to partner up and try to sell my work. We began in a small pop-up gallery in Key West and shortly after found a store front where we established our gallery, De La Gallery, in 2013.

My work is inspired by my background in architecture, design and surrealist art.

How would you describe your photographic style?
Modern and minimal.  

What inspires you/your work?
My work is inspired from my background in architecture along with design and surrealist art. Specific artists that I draw inspiration from are Rene Magritte, James Turrell, Hiroshi Sugimoto, and Murray Fredericks to name a few. What all these have in common for me is that their work transforms what is depicted into more than just an image, but they convey ideas that make you question the nature of what it is that you are seeing and/or experiencing. Having a viewer go through that experience is what inspires me to create new work.

What is your Masters series about?
Today’s megacities create an incredible network of interconnectivity. This infrastructure of interconnection provides us with the ability and structures to innovate. Using a helicopter as an aerial platform to interpret the city as a machine-like place for innovation was key in focusing this series for the Masters Book in order to interpret “innovate”. 

City street lights created interconnected grids and pathways of light and buildings provided the nodal points of visual interest against the backdrop of the darkness of the night. These structures emphasize the machine-like grid organization of a city which in turn creates innovation.  

Capturing these images tested the capabilities of my technical skills as well as that of the Hasselblad H6D-100c. Using high ISO (most images were shot at 6400 ISO) and shooting handheld (with a gyroscopic stabilizer to help) from a helicopter flying at night pushed all the limits of technological innovation. This type of work has been recently possible to attempt only because of the latest innovation from Hasselblad’s imaging platform.  

How was your experience using a Hasselblad medium format camera for carrying out your project?
My experience using the Hasselblad H6D-100c was intense. It definitely brought out the best of my abilities. Knowing that I am using one of the best camera systems on the market brought with it a level of respect for what it is capable of producing. I knew that if all the elements out of my control would align, the resulting image files created would be spectacular. Working on the raw files even at ISO 6400, you can still make out an incredible amount of detail in the images. For my particular approach I was shooting handheld at night from a helicopter using extremely high ISO which traditionally is not an application that many consider for medium format systems. I can tell you that after reviewing an unbelievable amount of high ISO images from the H6D-100c, it’s astounding what you can do with them. Because of the conditions I found myself shooting in, I had to set up the camera to underexpose the images in order to have a high enough shutter speed to combat the motion blur from the helicopter’s constant movement. When I first saw the files on my computer, I was worried about how this was going to work out. After a few weeks of trying to come up with an approach, I experienced the benefits of working with the Hasselblad medium format system in a new way. I took what may seem as the opposite approach; instead of brightening the underexposed files, I darkened them in order to balance the bright highlights and the dark shadows. This created the look I was after to interpret the theme, “innovate.”

STAY UPDATED WITH THE LATEST NEWS FROM HASSELBLAD MASTERS

Subscribe to our mailing list and get updates about the Hasselblad Masters Competition and other inspirational content. Your information will not be shared with any third party and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Thank you for subscribing

Your subscription has been registered, we hope that you will enjoy our newsletters.

To finalize your subscription, confirm your subscription in the e-mail we just sent to you.

HASSELBLAD MASTERS 2018