搜索并排序

Storyteller | Terry O'Neill

两位英国名人和一只大丹犬的摄影故事

故事发生在 1974 年。 泰瑞·奥尼尔(当时已经是一位全球知名的摄影师)在摄影棚为摇滚明星大卫·鲍伊和一只体型超大的大丹犬拍摄照片。

“那次是为鲍伊的专辑Diamond Dogs拍摄宣传照。”泰瑞微笑着说道,“摄影棚内的闪光灯每次闪烁时,这只大丹犬狂都会狂吠着跳起来想把它扑灭。整个摄影室的工作人员都本能地向后退,但大卫却连眼睛也不眨一下。”

David Bowie for Diamond DogSinger David Bowie poses with a large barking dog for the artwork of his 1974 album ‘Diamond Dogs’ in London.

最近这位天外来客的不幸辞世之后,不断有人向泰瑞在伦敦市中心的工作室索要大卫的照片。“索要照片的人成百上千。”他说道,“大卫在全球拥有数百万的追随者,我曾与他有过一段不短时间的合作 – 特别是他职业生涯的前二十年。我必须承认我喜欢他的歌词多过于他的声音。在我眼里,他更像一个演员而不是流行歌手 – 他扮演过各种各样的角色。他总是不断尝试新的角色,如 Ziggy Stardust 和 The Thin White Duke。大卫一直在引领时代潮流,他总会让我感到惊喜 – 他的去世让我无比悲痛。”

English singer, musician and actor David Bowie photographed for the Diamond Dog album cover, circa 1974.

泰瑞现年 78 岁,在过去半个世纪以来,曾担任过众多当红名人的御用摄影师。与之合作过的名人或团体包括:

披头士 (The Beatles),布赖恩·琼斯 (Brian Jones),玛丽安娜·菲斯福尔 (Marianne Faithfull),奥黛丽·赫本 (Audrey Hepburn),碧姬·芭铎 (Brigitte Bardot),肖恩·康纳利 (Sean Connery),拉奎尔·韦尔奇 (Raquel Welch),罗德·斯图尔特 (Rod Stewart),克林特·伊斯特伍德 (Clint Eastwood),李·马文 (Lee Marvin),保罗·纽曼 (Paul Newman),艾娃·加德纳 (Ava Gardner),迪恩·马丁 (Dean Martin),穆罕默德·阿里 (Muhammad Ali),约翰列侬 (John Lennon),汤姆·琼斯 (Tom Jones),埃尔顿·约翰 (Elton John),彼得·塞勒斯 (Peter Sellers),大卫·鲍伊 (David Bowie),罗伯特·雷德福 (Robert Redford),布鲁斯·斯普林斯廷 (Bruce Springsteen),法兰克·辛纳屈 (Frank Sinatra),彼得·奥图尔 (Peter O’Toole),谁人乐队 (The Who),史蒂夫·麦奎因 (Steve McQueen),达斯汀·霍夫曼 (Dustin Hoffman),迈克尔·凯恩 (Michael Caine),罗伯特·米彻姆 (Robert Mitchum),埃里克·克莱普顿 (Eric Clapton),费·唐纳薇 (Faye Dunaway),纳塔利·伍德 (Natalie Wood),大卫·贝利 (David Bailey) 和简·诗琳普顿 (Jean Shrimpton),滚石乐队 (The Stones),温斯顿·丘吉尔爵士 (Sir Winston Churchill),查克·贝里安东尼·纽利 (Chuck Berry Anthony Newley),彼得·库克 (Peter Cook) 和达德利·摩尔 (Dudley Moore),大卫·尼文 (David Niven),玛琳·黛德丽 (Marlene Dietrich),简·方达 (Jane Fonda),乌苏拉·安德丝 (Ursula Andress),罗曼·波兰斯基 (Roman Polanski) 和莎朗·蒂 (Sharon Tate),格劳乔·马克斯 (Groucho Marx)。

The Rolling Stones pose for a group portrait in Leicester Square in London, 17th January 1964. From left to right: Brian Jones (1942 – 1969), Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, Mick Jagger and Bill Wyman.

伦敦的国家肖像画廊 (National Portrait Gallery) 现收藏有泰瑞的 65 件摄影作品,他的摄影才华在这些作品中展露无遗。泰瑞的团队不断策划各种国际展览,展出他历年来经典的作品。

但让人意想不到的是,泰瑞·奥尼尔踏上摄影之路完全是因为一次偶然的机会。

他小时候曾接受两年的神职人员培训,但他在十四岁时爱上了爵士鼓。讽刺的是,他坦言自己从想过要给自己崇拜的偶像(像迪兹·吉莱斯皮和迈尔斯·戴维斯这些爵士乐大师)拍摄照片。

十七岁时,泰瑞认识到,只有到美国去,才能有更多的机会接触这些爵士大师。

English fashion model Kate Moss in a black body stocking, March 1993.

于是他决定应征 BOAC(英国航空公司之前的远途分部)的空中乘务员。

他回忆说:“在那个年代,这意味着可以有机会去纽约,并且在返航前可以在那里呆上三天。我认为这是我参加当地一些爵士演出的最佳机会。但我的第一份工作是在航空公司的摄影部门,但为了能够进入公司我便接了这个差事。不过之后我迷上了摄影,水到渠成地开始了自己的摄影生涯。”

终于我的摄影生涯迎来了第一个突破。“我拍了一张英国内政大臣拉博·巴特勒在机场候机室小憩的照片。当时有几位非洲首领围在他的身边。”

第二天这张照片登上了《星期日电讯报》(Sunday Dispatch) 的头版。

Hard rock group AC/DC shot through glass in London, late 1990s.

“从那以后,我在机场便有了一份正式的工作。”他回忆道,“我当时只有一台老式的 Agfa Silette,这是一款小型的 35mm 固定镜头取景器相机。这款相机很不好用,但我开始的时候仍用它拍了一些很不错的新闻照片。我喜欢精心雕琢自己的照片,而不喜欢像现在的狗仔队那样进行偷拍。”

泰瑞对狗仔队不屑一顾:他曾经(可通过 YouTube 观看)强烈谴责狗仔队:“狗仔队应该拉出去枪毙 – 他们只是一群拿着相机的动物。一只受过训练的猴子也不会比他们差。”

《每日写真报》(Daily Sketch) 发现了他的才华,向他提供了一份工作。他的第一个任务是前往北部地区拍摄四名前途无量的年轻音乐人。

“去了之后我才发现竟然是披头士乐队。”泰瑞说道,“第二天早晨,报纸被抢购一空。我的照片成为了披头士乐队最早的新闻照片。这也开创了报纸刊登流行乐明星照片的先河。”

Model Naomi Campbell peeks through her fingers. She wears a stiched fetish style leather outfit and has goggles on her head, 1993.

泰瑞在《每日写真报》工作了四年时间。“我买了一台更好的相机,不过当时我却是佛里特街 (Fleet Street) 唯一使用 35 mm 的摄影师了。当时所有人都在用 5×4 或禄来中画幅相机。但我发现 35mm 在拍摄名人时往往更加实用,因为它更为小巧,不会让人感觉非常不舒服。”

但是后来一切都发生了改变。

泰瑞开始成为了 Hasselblad 的忠实拥趸,数十年来一直对其情有独钟。他最具代表性的一张照片就是用他钟爱的 Hasselblad 500CM 拍摄的,当时是清晨六点半,照片中刚刚赢得奥斯卡的费·唐纳薇(当时是她的妻子)瘫坐在一家好莱坞高级酒店游泳池旁的椅子上。

“她当时不是很高兴。整晚的颁奖活动已让她筋疲力尽,很不乐意让我给她拍照。”他坦率地说。

Faye DunawayAmerican actress Faye Dunaway takes breakfast by the pool with the day’s newspapers at the Beverley Hills Hotel, 29th March 1977. She seems less than elated with her success at the previous night’s Academy Awards ceremony, where she won the 1976 Oscar for Best Actress in a Leading Role for ‘Network’.

后来他们离婚了。

但泰瑞与好莱坞却开始了热恋。

艾娃·加德纳给他找了一个肥差:担任法兰克·辛纳屈的随身摄影师。“艾娃为我写了一封引荐信给法兰克。我把信给他之后,他和我说:“小子,你就跟着我吧。”然而在接下来的三个星期中,他完全忽略了我的存在。”

不过在后来的很多年中,辛纳屈都对他推心置腹。“对此我感到非常荣幸。”泰瑞表示,“辛纳屈是一个很有个性的艺人,只会把一流的人才留在自己身边。

泰瑞在六七十年代给辛纳屈拍的那些标志性照片如今价值数千英镑。

其中一张拍摄于迈阿密,是辛纳屈、一个替身演员和一群恶棍的合照,不久前这张照片在纽约的苏富比拍卖会上以 30,000 美元的价格售出。

Italian tenor Luciano Pavarotti (1935-2007), circa 1990.

但泰瑞的职业生涯并非一帆风顺。他也曾陷入困境和低谷:

泰瑞说道:“我和彼得·塞勒斯是好朋友,他曾请我为他的婚礼拍照。婚礼进行到一半我才发现相机没放胶卷,那种感觉糟糕透了。好在我最终挽回了局面,并顺利地完成了拍摄。”

他的拍摄明星也并不总是光鲜亮丽。

他回忆说:“我记得有一次拍史蒂夫·麦奎因时我不期而至。当我到的时候,他正和公关人员吵得不可开交,他说自己根本不知道我要过去。凭着我在佛里特街拍摄新闻照片培养出来的直觉,我用三分钟拍下了他们争论的场面。之后我就离开了…因为我已经拍到我要的照片了。”

当被问及拍摄风格时,泰瑞·奥尼尔坦言自己并没有固定的风格。

但他坚信,要想拍出出色的作品,摄影师要学会如何融入背景。

Scottish actor Sean Connery as James Bond plays golf on a deserted film set in Pinewood Studios in London during the filming of ‘Diamonds Are Forever’, 1971.

“当初辛纳屈对我的忽视对于我而言实际上是最大的帮助。这让我能够把自己最擅长的工作做好。”

他补充说:“除了在暗房工作之外我没有接受过任何培训,也从来没有参加过任何摄影研讨会。我只是试着用大胆创新的方法拍出一张张有故事的照片。你可能会看到其中的故事,也可能看不到。我只是忠实地将他们拍下来。”

但说到拍摄器材,泰瑞对 Hasselblad 赞不绝口。

他仍然留着那款老式的 500CM(即便是现在,他依然对卤化银胶片情有独钟)。

我喜欢用胶片,但如果客户要求我也会使用数码相机。”他说道,

“我只知道,要拍出顶级作品,中画幅 Hasselblad 必不可少。我认为,如果追求图像质量,那绝对是越大越好。我发现用正方形画幅可以拍出更加动人的照片,也正是这个原因,我一直对 Hasselblad 情有独钟。

我的很多名人肖像照,包括皇后乐队、纳尔逊·曼德拉、艾米·怀恩豪斯和埃尔顿·约翰,都是用 Hasselblad 拍的。”

English pop singer Elton John at his home in Windsor, England, 1974. This photograph is from the album cover shoot for Elton John’s Greatest Hits album.

泰瑞表示:“即便如今市场中充斥着各种各样的拍摄器材,还有势不可挡的数码单反相机和带拍照功能的手机,但一些专业摄影师仍然非常看重图像质量,并且认为只有中画幅相机能够提供他们所需要的图像质量。”

他补充说:“我从事摄影工作已有五十年时间,我认为干这一行对于设备决不能将就。我绝不相信一个小尺寸传感器拍出来的画质能够超过中画幅相机。”

泰瑞还曾担任纳尔逊·曼德拉 90 岁生日的拍摄工作。“这对我来说是无上的荣耀。”他说道,“我为克林顿等多位国家领导人拍摄了照片。我在那里呆了一周的时间。”

但这位摄影大师认为,现在年轻摄影师们的从业环境正在变得越来越困难。

“在我职业生涯的黄金时期,人们在拍摄时非常轻松随意。当时没有咄咄逼人、颐指气使的公关人员。但是现在会有很多公关和宣传人员碍手碍脚。他们会给摄影师设置各种障碍和限制。

我非常幸运。赶上了好时候。但对于那些立志投身于摄影事业的人,我的建议是:一定要坚持下去,不要放弃摄影。”

Photographer Terry O’Neill, 1990s.

*泰瑞正与他的朋友(另外一位摇滚摄影大师)Gered Mankowitz 共同编写一本介绍早年滚石乐队的新书。预计将在今年春季推出。

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Storyteller | Terry O'Neill

Two great Englishmen and a Great Dane

It was 1974. Terry O’Neill (already by then a global photo-luminary) was shooting studio portraits of glam rock star David Bowie – and an extremely large dog.

‘It was a promotional shoot for Bowie’s ‘Diamond Dogs’ album,’ smiles Terry. ‘The problem was that when a strobe went off in the studio the absolutely barking mad Great Dane decided to jump up and try and kill it. The entire studio staff instinctively recoiled but David didn’t even blink.”

David Bowie for Diamond DogSinger David Bowie poses with a large barking dog for the artwork of his 1974 album ‘Diamond Dogs’ in London.

Since the recent tragic death of The Man Who Fell to Earth, Terry’s central London office has been swamped with requests for images. “We must have had hundreds of enquiries”, he says. “David was adored by millions across the globe and I worked with him quite a bit – especially in the first twenty years of his career. I have to confess I didn’t like his voice as much as I liked his lyrics. To me he seemed more of an actor than a pop singer – with all the different roles he played. He was constantly reinventing himself with characters like Ziggy Stardust and The Thin White Duke. David always struck me as a man way ahead of his time – and I was extremely saddened to hear the news that he had died.”

English singer, musician and actor David Bowie photographed for the Diamond Dog album cover, circa 1974.

Terry (now 78 years old) has been the photographer of choice for some of the most influential celebrities of the past half century. The roll-call just goes on and on and includes:

The Beatles; Brian Jones; Marianne Faithfull; Audrey Hepburn; Brigitte Bardot, Sean Connery; Raquel Welch; Rod Stewart; Clint Eastwood; Lee Marvin; Paul Newman; Ava Gardner; Dean Martin; Muhammad Ali; John Lennon; Tom Jones; Elton John; Peter Sellers; David Bowie; Robert Redford; Bruce Springsteen; Frank Sinatra; Peter O’Toole; The Who; Steve McQueen; Dustin Hoffman; Michael Caine; Robert Mitchum; Eric Clapton; Faye Dunaway; Natalie Wood; David Bailey and Jean Shrimpton; The Stones; Sir Winston Churchill; Chuck Berry; Anthony Newley; Peter Cook and Dudley Moore; David Niven; Marlene Dietrich, Jane Fonda; Ursula Andress; Roman Polanski and Sharon Tate; Groucho Marx.

The Rolling Stones pose for a group portrait in Leicester Square in London, 17th January 1964. From left to right: Brian Jones (1942 – 1969), Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, Mick Jagger and Bill Wyman.

Underpinning this man’s talent are the sixty five O’Neill images currently held by London’s National Portrait Gallery – and the fully-stretched O’Neill team is constantly masterminding international exhibitions of his back catalogue.

But the amazing thing is that Terry O’Neill really fell into photography by accident.

He spent two years of his childhood training for the priesthood but his true love as a fourteen year old was jazz drumming. And by some extreme irony he confesses that he never managed to organise photo-shoots with the jazz greats he always admired, like Dizzy Gillespie and Miles Davis.

When he was seventeen Terry had worked out that he would stand a much better chance of mixing with the  big-name jazz players in the States if he could just find a way to ‘cross the pond’.

English fashion model Kate Moss in a black body stocking, March 1993.

He decided the answer was to apply to be an air steward with BOAC (the former long-distance arm of British Airways).

He recalls: “In those days you’d do the trip to New York and get three days off before flying home. I thought that would be my best chance of getting some jazz gigs out there. But I got offered a ‘foot in the door’ job at the airline’s photographic unit, so I took it just to get into the corporation. Then I got hooked and one thing led to another.”

Then came the first break. “I took a photograph of RAB Butler who was then Britain’s Home Secretary, asleep in a waiting room at the airport. He was surrounded by a number of African chieftains.”

The picture made the front page of the Sunday Dispatch the next day.

Hard rock group AC/DC shot through glass in London, late 1990s.

“From then on I had a regular job at the airport” he recalls.  “All I had to shoot with was this old Agfa Silette, a small 35mm fixed lens viewfinder camera. It was a terrible camera but I started to get some great scoop pictures. I used to craft my images not ‘steal’ them like the paparazzi do now.”

Terry has no time for paparazzi: In a bit of a rant (viewable on YouTube) he once declared: “Paparazzi should be shot – they are just animals with cameras. You could train a monkey to do that.”

The Daily Sketch noted his emerging talent and offered him a staff job. His first task was to trek north and take a picture of four young musician hopefuls.

“Well it turned out to be The Beatles”, says Terry.  “The next morning the paper completely sold out. My pictures were the very first press photographs ever taken of the group. It was the beginning of pop pictures in newspapers.”

Model Naomi Campbell peeks through her fingers. She wears a stiched fetish style leather outfit and has goggles on her head, 1993.

Terry completed four years on The Sketch. “I bought a better camera but I ended up being just about the only photographer in Fleet Street shooting with a 35 mm at that time. Everyone was using 5×4 or Rollei medium format. But I worked out that the 35mm was often much more practical on a celebrity shoot because it was smaller and didn’t put people off quite so much.”

But all that changed. And how.

For many decades Terry has been a loyal disciple of Hasselblad. And one of his most iconic images – a picture of an exhausted Faye Dunaway (who was, at the time, his wife) slumped in a poolside chair at 6.30am at a top Hollywood hotel after just winning an Oscar – was captured with his beloved Hasselblad 500CM.

“She wasn’t very pleased. She had been up all night at the ceremony and didn’t really want me to take the shot” he admits.

Faye DunawayAmerican actress Faye Dunaway takes breakfast by the pool with the day’s newspapers at the Beverley Hills Hotel, 29th March 1977. She seems less than elated with her success at the previous night’s Academy Awards ceremony, where she won the 1976 Oscar for Best Actress in a Leading Role for ‘Network’.

They later divorced.

But Terry and Hollywood got on like a house on fire.

It was Ava Gardner who secured him the plum job of following and photographing Frank Sinatra. “Ava wrote me a letter of introduction to Frank. I handed it to him and he said: “Bloke, you’re with me.” Then he completely ignored me for the next three weeks.”

But Sinatra gave him access to his inner sanctum for years. “I was deeply honoured” admits Terry. “Sinatra was an exceptional professional and only surrounded himself by people who he considered the best in their business.”

Now iconic O’Neill images of Sinatra in the Sixties and Seventies sell for thousands of pounds.

One shot in Miami with Sinatra, a body double and a bevy of heavies recently sold at Sotheby’s in New York for $30,000.

Italian tenor Luciano Pavarotti (1935-2007), circa 1990.

But it wasn’t all sweetness and the right lights. Challenges and downsides were there too:

Terry says: “I became good friends with Peter Sellers and he asked me to cover his wedding. It wasn’t the greatest moment of my life when I realised I hadn’t put any film in the camera until halfway through the proceedings. Mercifully, I managed to recover the situation and just carried on as if nothing had happened.”

And some of the stars weren’t always at their best when he turned up.

He recalls: “I remember rocking up to shoot Steve McQueen. As soon as I arrived he got involved in a heated argument with his PR because he said he hadn’t been told I was coming.

My Fleet Street press instinct took over and I just snapped away for about three minutes while they argued. Then I left…with all the pictures I had actually needed.”

Talk to Terry O’Neill about shooting style and he freely admits he doesn’t really have one.

He is adamant that the real secret to great photography is for the photographer to learn the art of fading into the background.

Scottish actor Sean Connery as James Bond plays golf on a deserted film set in Pinewood Studios in London during the filming of ‘Diamonds Are Forever’, 1971.

‘When Sinatra ignored me it was the best gift he could have given me. It enabled me to just get on with the job I do best.”

He adds: “I’ve had no training other than working in a darkroom; I’ve never been near a photo seminar in my life. I just try to take pictures that tell a story – perhaps in a candid and unconventional way.  I think you can either see a picture or you can’t. I just capture the moment as it is.”

But when the subject turns to capture devices it’s all Hasselblad.

He STILL has that old 500CM (he’s a silver halide fanatic, even today)

I love film but I do shoot digitally when a client demands it’ he says.

“I just know that medium format Hasselblad is the way to go at the high-end. I do believe that when image is everything bigger really is better. I discovered I could tell more of a story in square capture format and for that reason my love affair with Hasselblad has never waned.

I used a Hasselblad for my most celebrated portraits of The Queen, Nelson Mandela, Amy Winehouse and Elton John.”

English pop singer Elton John at his home in Windsor, England, 1974. This photograph is from the album cover shoot for Elton John’s Greatest Hits album.

Terry comments: “Even with today’s capture options and the inexorable march of DSLRs and camera phones many professionals still want the quality and feel that only medium format is capable of delivering.”

He adds: “In the business I have been in for fifty years there is no room at all for equipment compromise. I just don’t believe a smaller sensor can ever beat the quality delivered by the medium format platform.”

Terry covered Nelson Mandela’s 90th birthday celebrations too. “That was a huge honour” he notes: “I took pictures of people like the Clintons and other world leaders. I was there for a week.”

But the great man thinks it’s all getting harder for young professionals in his line of work.

“In my heyday the people in front of my camera let me get up close and personal. There were no pushy publicists trying to control everything. These days PRs and publicists just get in the way. They insist on putting up obstacles and imposing multitudes of restrictions on photographers.

I have been very lucky. I had the best of it. But my advice though to those intent on persevering is just keep shooting. Just keep taking pictures.”

Photographer Terry O’Neill, 1990s.

*Terry is working with his friend (and another rock photographer god) Gered Mankowitz on a brand new book covering the early years of The Rolling Stones. It’s due out in the spring.

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer