搜索并排序

Storyteller | Rachael Hale McKenna

有人说,工作时碰上动物和儿童就是一场噩梦,Rachael Hale McKenna 却非常擅长儿童及动物摄影,还出版了一系列畅销书,拥有一批钟爱其摄影作品的忠实粉丝,并且在国际上声名远播。

规则是用来打破的。对于儿童和动物很难拍的说法,新西兰摄影师 Rachael Hale McKenna 完全不以为然。

事实上,她将这两个有很多相似点的摄影对象作为她的毕生工作目标,并借此声名远扬,享誉国际,拥有了一大批粉丝。粉丝们钟爱她营造出的轻松氛围和高超的摄像技巧,在赏心悦目又不刻意的情境中,一切都完美衔接。

RM7

她说:“我是个幸运儿,因为八岁起我就知道自己想要成为摄影师。”“很小的时候,我就得到了二手装备,然后开始出门寻找灵感并且拍些照片。我从来都没使用过 35mm 的摄影镜头: 我真正意义上的第一架相机是 Rolleiflex TLR,后来改用一台二手的 Hasselblad 500C。 我喜欢那台相机,现在还保留着: 就算我已经不再用了,也不会把它丢掉。”

从设计学院摄影专业毕业后,1991 年 Rachael 有幸成为世界知名婴儿摄影师 Anne Geddes 的助理,后来她辞去工作,开始环游世界,两年后回到新西兰成立了自己的工作室,专门从事动物和儿童摄影。

RM3

2007 年重新进行品牌建设后,Rachael 决定改变方向,走出工作室,在自然环境下进行摄影。她说:“我就想尝试些全新的东西。”“我当时想进行一个以往完全没做过的项目,因此在 2010 年我联系了出版商,想看看他们有没有兴趣出版一本在法国取景以猫为主题的画册。他们对这个想法表示很有兴趣,因此我们就动身了: 我丈夫先前在法国工作,所以我们对法国有些了解,我们的女儿当时还很小,所以正好可以趁这个机会一家团聚。这是我梦寐以求的工作,半年来我走遍法国,在各种充满特色的乡野村庄抓拍美丽的猫,每一分钟都是真正的享受。”

RM6

这对夫妇为了准备这趟旅程,联系了整个法国的乡村酒店,询问是否可以为猫留影并记录到这本画册中。他们获得了热情的回应,路线制定下来后,一切准备就绪。Rachael 回忆道:“我们的预算很吃紧。”“我们要在露营营地和青年旅社歇脚,有时我们拍摄的地方会给我们打折。我还打算拍摄街道上的猫,并且按照法国旅游指南的形式来营造意境,这样一来,背景与猫就可以相得益彰。”

为小猫小狗跨越千山万水:

2011 年,《The French Cat》(法国猫)画册出版,一时之间好评如潮,随后 Rachael 回到法国,开始筹备续集,次年又出版了《The French Dog》(法国狗)。自此,她开始进行后续项目,在不同的环境下探索同一个主题,2013 年她跑到纽约进行了为期半年的拍摄,2014 年初,《The New York Dog》(纽约狗)问世。

“这与我以往做过的项目完全不同: 一开始,纽约不允许狗狗们四处流浪,这点与法国不同,所以,在未经同意的情况下,我无法拍摄到街道上的狗。为此,在我们去纽约之前,我先放出风声,告诉大家我准备拍摄这本画册,这引起了巨大反响。随后,一切水到渠成,我有了大量拍摄对象可供选择。我想拍摄来自纽约不同地区的各种狗狗,这样就可以发掘纽约不一样的城市风情。”

RM2

在这三个项目中,Rachael 一直恪守自己的中画幅原则,这是让她感觉最自在的工作方式。她说:“我其实一直迷恋比较大的画幅。”“当然我刚开始工作时,也非常喜欢使用 4×5 英寸相机,这类相机让我养成了拍摄所需的耐性,而耐性正是拍摄儿童和动物最重要的因素。拍摄不是利用图片描绘美景,而是与拍摄对象建立一种密切关系,建立关系后方可捕捉美好瞬间。

RM5

“即使是现在,我使用的是 Hasselblad 数码相机,早就无需担心自己拍摄了多少画面,但是一个场景,我也就拍五六张照片。思想上认为无足轻重时,行动就会懈怠。这样是不行的:我会花很多时间揣摩我的照片,但我只在遇到自己认为值得捕捉的事物时才按下快门。”

在认同数码相机的质量可与胶卷相机媲美之前,她一直使用 Hasselblad 胶卷相机,这才成就了她的一贯拍摄手法。她的大部分作品都是使用 80mm 标准镜头完成的,必要时偶尔也使用 55mm 镜头。她也会尽量避免使用人工照明,因为她认为这样更加自然,也更容易拉近与拍摄对象的距离。

RM4

“我一直在使用 H4D 和 H5D 相机进行拍摄,”她说,“这两种相机非常棒。要是展望未来的话,我对 H5D-50c 的兴趣也很浓,毕竟它有 CMOS 传感器。它的图像质量完全符合我对 Hasselblad 相机的期望,但如果能把 ISO 提高一些,在光线较暗的情况下,我就可以拍得更完美些。”

随着《Kiwi Cats》(新西兰猫)画册等新项目的进行,Rachael 为了各种工作,在镜头后忙得不可开交。她一贯追求完美,而且对于动物与儿童摄影满怀热情,相信未来几年,她的粉丝们会看到更多令人激动的作品。

RM1

更多信息:

www.rachaelmckenna.com

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Storyteller | Rachael Hale McKenna

Never work with children and animals they say, but internationally acclaimed Rachael Hale McKenna has successfully photographed both and has come away with a series of bestselling books and an army of fans who love her pictures.

Rules are made for breaking, and New Zealand based photographer Rachael Hale McKenna has made a mockery of the somewhat tongue-in-cheek assertion that children and animals can be difficult to work with.
Indeed she’s made these two surprisingly similar subjects her life’s work, and in the process has acquired an international reputation and a legion of fans who adore her relaxed visual approach and the unerring knack that she has of creating images where everything just fits seamlessly together within a delightfully unarranged environment.

RM7

“I was one of the lucky ones in that I knew from the age of eight that I wanted to be a photographer,” she says. “I had hand-me-down kit given to me from an early age, and it just felt natural to go out and take pictures. I was never a 35mm shooter: my first serious camera was a Rolleiflex TLR and I moved on from there to a second hand Hasselblad 500C. I loved that camera and still have it: despite the fact that I don’t use it these days I would never get rid of it.”

After studying photography at Design School, Rachael had the good fortune to land a job as an assistant to the world-renowned baby photographer Anne Geddes in 1991, and after leaving to travel the world she returned to New Zealand two years later to set up her own studio, which specialised in animal and child photography.

RM3

Following a re-brand of her business in 2007, Rachael decided to change tack and to look at moving her photography outside of the studio and into the environment. “I just wanted to try something that was new and different for me,” she says. “I was looking for a project that would be very different to anything I’d done before, and so I approached my publisher in 2010 to see if they might be interested in publishing a book of pictures that featured cats in the landscape of France. They liked the idea and so off we went: my husband had worked in France before and so we knew the country a little, and we had a baby daughter and so it was a chance for us all to be together. It was my dream job, travelling through the country for six months taking photos of beautiful cats in the character-filled countryside and villages, and I loved every minute.”

RM6

The couple prepared for the trip by contacting country hotels all around the country, enquiring if they might have cats that could be included in the book. The response they received was overwhelming and, with an itinerary to follow, they had a structure in place. “We had such a tight budget to follow,” Rachael recalls. “We would stop at campsites and hostels, and sometimes the establishments we were photographing would give us a discount. I set out to photograph cats in the streets as well, and it all built up into a travelogue of the country, where the surroundings were as important as the cats themselves.”

Crossing continents for cats and dogs:

When the book, ‘The French Cat,’ was published in 2011 it was an instant hit, and soon Rachael was back out on the roads of France working on a sequel, ‘The French Dog,’ which was published the following year. From there she looked for a follow up project that would explore the same themes but in a different context, and the upshot was a move to New York for six months during 2013 while she shot pictures for ‘The New York Dog,’ which was published in early 2014.

“It was a very different project to the ones I’d previously done: for a start, dogs in New York aren’t allowed to roam free the way they are in France, and so there was no question of me photographing them in the streets without permission. So, before we arrived in the city I’d put the word out that I was looking to shoot this book and I was inundated with response. From there it was a case of choosing which ones would fit my brief the best. I looked for a good cross section of breeds that came from different parts of town, so that I could cover as many different aspects of New York as possible.”

RM2

Throughout all three projects Rachael has stuck with her medium format principles, and it’s very much the way that she’s comfortable working. “I’ve always had an affinity with the larger formats,” she says. “When I was starting out I also really enjoyed using 4x5in cameras, and they taught me the patience that’s needed when you’re looking for pictures, and this is really important when you’re working with children and animals. It’s not about spraying a scene with pictures it’s about building a rapport with the subject, and once you’ve done that you pick your moment to shoot.

RM5

“Even these days when I’m working with a digital Hasselblad and have less need to worry about how many frames I go through, I still only shoot around five to six images of each scene. People can get lazy when they think it doesn’t matter, but that’s poor discipline: I still take a lot of time over my pictures but I only shoot when I think I’ve got something worth capturing.”

Her traditional approach extends to the fact that she stayed loyal to her film-based Hasselblads until she was finally convinced that the quality of digital had finally caught up, and she shoots the majority of her work using an 80mm standard lens, occasionally working with a 55mm if the situation demands it. She also largely eschews artificial light in favour of ambient if she possibly can, believing that it looks more natural and gives her more of a connection with her subjects.

“I’ve been working with H4D and H5D cameras,” she says, “which are fantastic. I have to say, however, that looking ahead; I’ve got one eye on an H5D-50c, with its CMOS sensor. The quality of the images are exactly what I would expect from a Hasselblad, but the fact that I could maybe push the ISO up a little more would give me just a little more to play with when the light is low.”

With new projects on the go, including a ‘Kiwi Cats’ book, Rachael has plenty to keep herself occupied and lots of reasons to stay busy behind her camera. Her impeccable eye for a picture and total affinity with animals and children ensure that her army of fans will have plenty to keep them happy over the next few years.

RM1

More information:
www.rachaelmckenna.com

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer