搜索并排序

Storyteller | Platon

“假如你无所畏惧,你会怎么做?”

著名摄影师 Platon 纽约为世界上最有权势和影响力的重要人物拍摄了众多震撼人心的肖像照,这些照片令他声名鹊起,成功地征服了这座位于大西洋彼岸的城市。

为重要政治人物和国家元首拍照不是一件容易的事。

obama Barack Obama by Platon

第一个问题就是接近他们:面对一位国家元首,要如何安排拍摄呢?

一个人的地位越重要,随从人员就越多,安检和公关控制也就越严格,这导致拍摄决定性瞬间的机会转瞬即逝。

就算你成功安排了拍摄,但也可能要遵守他们的规则,并且拍摄时间非常有限。

而 Platon 之所以能够取得如此高的成就,是因为他为国际舞台上的很多重要人物(包括一些臭名昭著的人物)拍摄了一系列非同寻常的照片。

george-wGeorge W. Bush by Platon

例如,他曾成功地让克林顿放松警戒,拍摄出了一张被有些人戏称为“胯部照”的真实照片,而且还曾给普京拍过一张气势逼人的标志性照片。

Platon 的经历是一个传奇:不仅仅是他拍摄的这些照片,还有来自异国他乡的他竟然能够征服纽约这样一座竞争超级激烈的城市。他应对挑战和扭转不利局面的方法对于那些优柔寡断的人来说是一个巨大的启发。

ClintonBill Clinton by Platon

Platon 当初受邀为小约翰·肯尼迪和他的政治杂志《George》拍照,这为他到纽约工作提供了机会。当时,他已经是一位成功的肖像摄影师,在英国《Vogue》杂志工作多年,尽管如此,考虑到将面临完全不同的生活和工作环境,这无疑是一个勇敢的选择。

他表示:“虽然英国人和美国人使用同样的语言,我认为我们在文化上有很大差异。”

“英国人仍沉浸于维多利亚时代的价值观,处事圆滑、喜欢耍手腕而表面上不露声色。此外,英国还存在固有的等级制度,不同等级之间的禁忌仍深深地存在于人们的心中。但在美国,人们已经从这些思想中解放出来,你只需要记住一点,那就是你的成就取决于昨天的努力。如果你有热忱、肯努力、有才华,并且能够有所成绩,那么就不愁没有机会。

dreDr Dre by Platon

“但这也意味着这里的节奏非常非常快。我第一次来到美国时身上只有一台相机和一个行李箱。而在一年之后,我就进了白宫,为克林顿工作。我认为在英国自己不太可能这么快就做到这种程度,因为那里有一套完全不同的体系。话虽如此,但在英国往往可以发现一些在纽约时不会注意到的细节。纽约的工作方式就是做事、实现目标、获得成功和得到认可。而在伦敦,工作则要微妙和复杂得多。我不确定两者谁更好,也许你能否成功仅仅取决于自己。”

拍摄名人:

Platon 拍摄的第一位著名人物是灵乐歌手 James Brown,这次令人沮丧的经历改变了他的职业道路。这不是一次私人摄影,而是为他即将在伦敦的演出举办的一场媒体招待会,和往常一样,所有人推推搡搡,竞相抢占最好的位置,而且感觉不得不委曲求全。

m-obamaMichelle Obama by Platon

“我面前是个了不起的家伙,我知道他不属于我一个人。一群如狼似虎的记者拿着相机把他团团围住,而我根本无法拍到一张亲近的肖像照。我猛然意识到,这不是我想要的:我不想在一大群人的争抢中和对方交流,我希望这个人只属于我一个人,在我布置的环境中接近他,深入地了解他和与他交流。

“从那时开始,我立志改变自己的工作方式。对于我来说,与模特一对一地亲密交流和相互尊重是我工作的本色,其他的任何工作方式我都做不来。”

snowdenEdward Snowden by Platon

Platon 通常仅有几分钟(甚至更短时间)拍摄他的模特,因此他必须很快地完成拍摄。为此,他必须在精神上剥开模特努力表现出的形象,发掘他们的本质,无论他们多么有名或者最初看起来多么不易亲近。

今天,就算是普通人也会精心地将自己最靓丽的一面展现在镜头前,因此必须要有锐利的眼光才能穿透表象,发掘出人物更加真实和丰富的内涵。

pacinoAl Pacino by Platon

“我认为,在今天我们尤其需要一种追求真实和讲述事实的意识。” Platon 说,“我们需要看着对方的眼睛,问一问自己,‘这个人真实的样子是什么?’与这个人会面时到底会是什么样的情况?在普京或奥巴马面前你有什么感受?这对你有什么启发?

“我觉得必须穿透这种表象,无论是只有 30 秒钟时间——比如我给委内瑞拉总统查韦斯拍照时——还是一个小时,都无所谓。这不是时间的问题,而是你是否有能力和愿意与对方交流。但是,这种方法需要精神高度集中,无法保持太长时间,否则对方和你都会精疲力尽。因此,你的动作必须要快,随时准备捅破这层隔膜。

nelsonWillie Nelson by Platon

“对方毕竟是一个人,他的地位只是一种幻象,其实并不存在,不要被这种幻象迷惑。我不认为有什么人是至高无上的:我们都是人,我们是平等的,不过是各有所长,我们也都有缺点。身为摄影师,我的工作是使拍摄回归人性,打破对方地位所造成的幻象。”

当然,一句好的开场白也很有帮助,还有在与任何重要人物打交道时都要保持自然和自信。例如,当《时代杂志》派 Platon 前往莫斯科为普京拍照时,他花了一周时间来准备拍摄,以便自己到时能够从容地完成拍摄工作。五天之后,他从酒店乘坐一辆黑色宝马轿车前往位于莫斯科郊外一片哥特式森林深处的普京私人别墅。

“我到达那里时,到处都是狙击手,而且雪有三四英尺深,”他说道,“这就像是一部冷战电影的场景。在引导我进入别墅之前,他们在雪中检查了我的所有设备,并让我在一个房间里等了八个半小时。然后,他们说:‘您有 15 分钟时间布置灯光。’有 20 个人在我旁边监视我的一举一动。我需要电源,于是想要去拔墙上的一个插头。保镖们立即向我大声吼叫,并用手指着我要拔掉的电线。电线接着普京办公桌上面一个玻璃盒子中一台带按钮的红色电话。

putinVladimir Putin by Platon

Platon 用一句话缓解了紧张的气氛:“我是披头士迷,您呢?”普京回答说他也很喜欢他们,坚冰立即被打破,使接下来的交谈成为可能,并让他成功地将哈苏相机放置在距离这位俄罗斯总理的脸仅一英寸的地方,拍到了一张十分冷峻的肖像照。“拍摄结束后他问我能不能和我拍一张照片。于是我让他的一个保镖拿着我的小相机,我将手搭在他的肩上拍了一张照片。”

最佳工具:

Platon 始终将精力放在寻找最佳拍摄时机上面,从不纠结于相机设备,他只是希望能用自己信赖的设备完成拍摄工作。目前,他最喜欢的工具就是哈苏 H5D-60 相机。他使用哈苏相机已有很多年:他知道这个品牌的相机能够满足他的一切要求,让他可以全身心地投入拍摄。

gaddafiMuammar Gaddafi by Platon

“我第一次真正对摄影产生兴趣是我在艺术学院学习设计的时候,当时别人给了我一台旧的哈苏相机,让我在设计室中试拍。”他回忆道,“从那时起,我就进入了一个崭新的世界,在我以后的成长道路上,哈苏品牌一直伴随着我。我没有兴趣尝试其它中画幅相机:我不会为了尝试而尝试,我更喜欢从一而终。我的原则很简单,如果好用,我就会一直使用,因为我把主要精力投入到照片传达的信息和画面上,而不是试用千百种相机来比较哪种相机好。

“哈苏相机能够营造出庄重的气氛,我拍的不是墙上的苍蝇,而是要与模特协作,将瞬间化为永恒。他们和我都了解这一点,哈苏相机就是我们之间的媒介,让人感觉更加庄重。如果光线充足,我也会使用 35 毫米相机,它们非常适合拍摄窗户上射进的光束。我认为 35 毫米相机更加随意,而且我喜欢变换使用这两种相机,但哈苏能让我和我的拍摄对象感到一种庄严和厚重感。

clooney George Clooney by Platon

最初,Platon 是否曾经想过自己会取得如此高的成就?他的回答十分诚恳,他对自己的自信溢于言表,但他只是实事求是,并非傲慢。

“我到达现在的地位比我预期的晚了 15 年。”他坦言道,

“有时候我希望自己的事业能发展得迅速一些,因为我总害怕时间会不够用。但我很高兴事实并不是这样,因为这让我有更多的时间变得成熟,并且让我知道如何避免坠入自高自大的陷阱,使我在人品道德方面不会出现偏差。现在我的工作效率变得更高,对人生的起起落落认识有了更深的认识,并且更珍惜我拥有的一切。如果我过早地到达现在的地位,也许我会把一切都搞砸。

adele Adele by Platon

“扎克伯格的办公室有一张海报,上面写着‘假如你无所畏惧,你会怎么做?’这句格言深深地印在了我脑海中:假如我无所畏惧,我会怎么做?这是一句很有感召力的口号。它告诉我们是时候鼓起勇气,伸出友谊之手了。我手里恰好有一台相机,这台相机恰好是哈苏。”

更多信息:

www.platonphoto.com

Instagram @Platon

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Storyteller | Platon

‘What would you do if you weren’t afraid?’

Celebrated photographer Platon successfully crossed the Atlantic to conquer New York, where he’s developed a reputation for his striking portraits of the world’s most powerful and influential figures.

It’s not easy to photograph powerful politicians and heads of state.

obama Barack Obama by Platon

For a start there’s the question of access: how exactly do you arrange a sitting with someone who runs a country?

The more important someone is the bigger their entourage and the tighter their security and PR control, diminishing the chances of snatching a defining moment.

If you do manage to set up a shoot the danger is that you have to play by their rules and work within the very limited time you’re allowed.

All of which makes the achievement of Platon in producing an extraordinary set of pictures of some of the most important figures to ever strut the international stage – including some of the more notorious ones – all the more jaw dropping.

george-wGeorge W. Bush by Platon

Just how, for example, did he get Bill Clinton to drop his guard for a very revealing portrait – nicknamed by some ‘the crotch shot’ – and what exactly is the story behind that iconic, and slightly menacing, picture of Vladimir Putin?

The story of how Platon not only did all of this but also, in the process, crossed the Atlantic to conquer a city as hyper-competitive as New York is a fascinating one, and the way in which he’s confronted his challenges and turned his apparent disadvantages on their head should act as an inspiration to anyone that has ever been cowed by the thought of taking the next big step.

ClintonBill Clinton by Platon

Platon’s opportunity to go and work in the Big Apple came about when he was invited to work for the late John Kennedy Jr. and his political magazine, ‘George.’ He was already established as a successful portrait photographer at that time, having worked for British Vogue for several years, but even so it was a brave move for anyone to make, considering the very different living and working environment that would inevitably be encountered.

“Although the British and Americans share the same language I think culturally we are very different,” he says.

“The British are still entrenched in this idea of Victorian values, tact, diplomacy and keeping a calm surface. However, there’s also an inherent class system in England, and the taboo of moving up or down in that is still entrenched in our psyche. In America, however, there’s liberation from that; you’re as good as yesterday’s work, so that’s all you need to know. If you’re dedicated, committed and talented and can deliver then you’ll get another opportunity.

dreDr Dre by Platon

“This means that things move really, really fast here. When I first came to America I arrived with just a camera and a suitcase and a year later I was in the White House working with the Clinton administration. I just don’t think I could have done it that fast in the UK: it’s a whole different thing. Having said that, the British tend to see the details that perhaps we sometimes don’t notice in New York. Here it’s about doing stuff, achieving, winning and scoring. Working in London is much more subtle and complicated. I’m not sure one is better than the other, and maybe whether you thrive or not just depends on who you are.”

The Big Names:

The first famous person Platon ever photographed was soul singer James Brown, and he came away from the experience slightly deflated. It hadn’t been a private sitting, rather it was a press junket for an upcoming show he was doing in London, and there was the usual jostling for position and the feeling of having to accept whatever was being handed out.

m-obamaMichelle Obama by Platon

“I had this incredible guy in front of me and I knew he wasn’t mine. There was this gang of hungry predators with cameras surrounding him, and I was in totally the wrong environment to grab an intimate portrait. For me it was a crystallizing moment where I realised this wasn’t me: I didn’t want to fight from the crowd for a look in the eye, I want this guy on my own, in my environment where I can reach him, get to him, figure out who he is and connect with him.

“From that moment on my goal was to do things another way. For me the sitting, the intimacy, the connection, the privacy and the mutual respect is what is so inherent in my work and I can’t function any other way.”

snowdenEdward Snowden by Platon

Often given just a matter of a few minutes – or less – within which to capture his subjects Platon has to work fast, and to do this he has to mentally strip back the façade that his subject might have contrived, to find an essence of the real person, however famous and unapproachable they might initially appear to be.

In an age where even ordinary people, carefully constructing their selfies from the most flattering angle, are presenting a ‘brand’ image, it takes an insightful eye to cut through to achieve a more realistic interpretation that might actually reveal a little more.

pacinoAl Pacino by Platon

“I believe that more than ever we need a sense of authenticity and truth,” says Platon. “We need the opportunity to look into someone’s eyes and say ‘who are you really?’ What’s it really like to meet this person?  What do you feel like when you’re in the presence of Putin or Obama? What does that do to you?

“I feel it’s essential to tear down that façade, and it doesn’t matter if I have 30 seconds – as I did when I photographed Hugo Chavez, the President of Venezuela – or an hour. It’s not about time; it’s a question of power and a commitment to connect. However, this approach is intense and you can’t sustain it for long, it’s just too exhausting, for the sitter and me. So you have to do it fast and be prepared to tear down that wall.

nelsonWillie Nelson by Platon

“Above everything you have to be a human being, and not be seduced by an illusion of supremacy, because it doesn’t exist. I don’t believe that anyone reigns supreme over anyone else: we’re all just people we all have talents and, equally, we all have flaws. My job as a photographer is to humanise the system and destroy the illusion of supremacy.”

It also helps, of course, to have a good opening line and to be naturally confident around people, however big their reputation might be. When Platon was sent to Moscow by Time Magazine to photograph Putin, for example, he had to dedicate a week to the shoot so that he would be ready at a moment’s notice to grab his camera and set up the shot. It was five days before a black BMW pulled up outside his hotel to take him to his appointment, which was in Putin’s private dacha, located in the middle of a dark gothic forest outside Moscow.

“When I arrived there were snipers everywhere and three or four feet of snow,” he says. “It was like a scene from a cold war movie. They made me go through all my equipment in the snow before ushering me into the building, and made me wait in a room for eight and a half hours. Then they said: ‘You’ve got 15 minutes to set up your lights.’ I had 20 guys watching every move I made. I needed power at one point so I went to pull a plug out of the wall. Instantly the guards screamed at me and pointed to the wire I was about to unplug. It went into a red telephone with a button on it, which sat in a glass case on his desk.”

putinVladimir Putin by Platon

Platon dissolved the intimidating atmosphere with his first comment: “I’m a big Beatles fan: are you?” When Putin responded that he loved them the ice was broken, and it was then possible to have a conversation and, at one point, to arrange a Hasselblad just an inch from the Russian premier’s face for a gangsterish-style portrait. “At the end he asked if he could have his picture taken with me. So I asked one of his guards to hold my little snappy camera and I put my arm around him for the shot.”

The Perfect Tool:

Because he’s focused so intensely on watching out for the moment Platon has never been obsessed with his camera gear, preferring instead to work with something that he trusts implicitly to simply do its job. Currently his tools of choice are Hasselblad H5D-60s. He has used the brand for years: he knows it will do everything he asks of it and that gives him one less thing to worry about.

gaddafiMuammar Gaddafi by Platon

“The first time I really connected with photography was when I was at art college studying design and they gave me an old Hasselblad to experiment with in the studio,” he recalls. “From that moment on a door opened, and I’ve grown up with Hasselblad as a brand. I have no interest in experimenting with other medium format cameras: I don’t experiment for the sake of experimenting and prefer continuity. Quite simply, if it works I’ll stick with it, because my energy goes into the message, the picture, not trying out a million different cameras to see which ones feels right.

“The Hasselblad creates a moment of theatre; I’m not capturing a fly on the wall, I’m collaborating with my sitter to make a moment that will last forever in time. They are aware of it, I’m aware of it, the camera is in between us and it just feels more powerful and stately as a tool. I do use 35mm cameras on occasions if I’m working with available light, and they’re great for capturing things like a shaft of light from a window. I find 35mm more informal, and I really enjoy the bounce from one to the other, but the Hasselblad creates a weight, a stately quality that both my sitter and I feel.”

clooney George Clooney by Platon

Starting out, could Platon have ever envisaged coming quite so far as he has? His answer is disarmingly honest and speaks volumes about the confidence he has in himself, but it’s simply intended to be realistic rather than arrogant.

“I expected to be where I am now around 15 years earlier than it happened,” he confesses.

“Sometimes I wish things had moved faster because I have this terrible feeling of time running out. However I’m actually glad it didn’t because I’ve matured in that extra time and now know how to avoid the pitfalls of ego and my moral compass going haywire. I’m more effective now, more aware of the highs and lows of life and more appreciative of what I have. If I’d been here earlier I would have blown it.

adele Adele by Platon

“Zuckerberg has a poster in his office that says ‘what would you do if you weren’t afraid?’ That’s become a quiet mantra in the back of my mind: if I weren’t afraid, what would I be doing? It’s a great call to arms for everyone. Time to be courageous folks, time to reach out with the open hand of friendship. I happen to have a camera in my hand, and that camera happens to be a Hasselblad.”


Platon talks about working with his Hasselblad

More information:

www.platonphoto.com

Instagram @Platon

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer