搜索并排序

Storyteller | Karl Taylor

化腐朽为神奇

钟爱哈苏相机的商业摄影师兼培训师 Karl Taylor 不愿安于现状,而是乐于不断迎接新挑战,并且非常享受解决专业难题的过程。

谨慎行事从来就不是 Karl Taylor 的性格。他最快乐的时光是在工作上有突破时,例如,在恶劣的环境(如冰岛)完成一次时尚拍摄,担任哈苏相机大使,在秀场上面对现场观众挑战高速拍摄任务,以及精确拍摄装满油漆的气球爆炸的瞬间。Karl Taylor 在事业上无往不利,这充分证明他技术娴熟,创造力丰富,并且勇于挑战艰巨任务。

© Karl Taylor

Karl Taylor 微笑着说道:“我天生喜欢挑战。这开始于我脑海里的一幅画面,然后我就动手把它勾勒出来,并设法实现它。我的工作动力来自于灯光技术、物理知识以及必须解决的各种问题,特别是,因为我的目标始终是尽量使用相机完成创作而不是依靠 Photoshop 的后期处理。我有一个影像记事本,记录着自己想要拍摄的题材,所以一有机会,我就会尝试进行拍摄。我们经常会等水到渠成的时候,将其转变为影像的形式,然后用于教程、研讨会或者未来的现场表演中。”

sidi_boot_copy-compressor© Karl Taylor

接触摄影

“我生于海峡群岛的格恩西岛并在那里长大。”Karl Taylor 说道,“我 16 岁结束学业,并在设计行业找到了一份很有前途的工作。然而,这份工作做了不到一年,我就成了冗员,最后,我在一家相机店找到了份工作,一边骑驴找马地注意其他机会。那是我第一次接触摄影,当时他们会给我们安排一些任务,让我们多了解要卖的相机。

在这个过程中我开始迷上了摄影,从此以后,我便全身心投入到摄影中。先是做一些助理性的工作,然后在二十岁出头时努力成为了一名摄影记者,在东南亚工作了三年。”

Hawk-compressor© Karl Taylor

“最后,我因为忍受不了这份工作无法让我赚很多钱而离开了,所以我前往了澳大利亚,在那里的一家商业工作室作为摄影助理工作了一段时间。在这里,我对灯光的控制性使用产生了浓厚的兴趣,并开始学习相关技术。随后,我回到了格恩西岛,成立了自己的工作室。虽然这里是个岛屿,但却是理想的工作之地,因为这里有许多避税生意和公司总部。”

无论当时或现在,商品摄影都要求最高品质,因此,Karl 的工作室在成立之初就常使用中画幅和大画幅相机。但是,在胶片时代,材料成本令人头痛。胶片和宝丽莱 (Polaroid) 相机的成本每年超过 17,000 英镑,而随着相机传感器质量和分辨率的提高,Karl 也开始设法通过 Hasselblad H1 和 Imacon 数码后背来解决成本问题。由此,他开始与哈苏相机结缘,并且一直持续到现在。

vodka_flat_1-compressor© Karl Taylor

Karl 表示:“改用 H1,意味着我的收费不变,但利润增加了,因为我不需要再购买胶片。到现在为止,我使用哈苏相机已有 11 年左右,在继 H3 和 H4 之后,我目前使用的是 H5D-50 CCD 机型,我对这款相机的性能非常满意。在 2014 年世界影像博览会上,我使用采用 CMOS 传感器的 H5D-50c 相机拍摄哈苏展台的活动照片,相机在高 ISO 速度下的成像效果令我大为震撼。我曾为一个模特拍摄了一组科幻主题的照片,模特在摆拍时,只使用了荧光灯管照明。我将 ISO 速度调到 800 和 1600,拍出的质量令人惊叹,即使后来将这些照片制作成了巨幅照片,效果依然好得令人难以置信。拍摄时几乎没有噪音,这也是令人叫绝的地方。”

© Karl Taylor

然而,在工作室这种灯光更容易控制的地方拍摄时,Karl 更喜欢用 CCD 相机,其 ISO 最低可到 50,而 H5D-50c 则是 100。“它正好适合我的工作。”他表示,“不过这两款相机都非常棒。”

在 Karl 的工作室内,除了哈苏相机外,还有先进的灯光设备,这些设备功能强大、便于移动且反应速度超快,对于 Karl 进行高速拍摄非常重要。几年前,他决定用当时的灯光设备换取 Broncolor 闪光灯设备和 Para 反光镜,有了这些设备,再搭配他的相机,整套摄影设备堪称完美,并且具有非常高的灵活性。

© Karl Taylor

功成名就

Karl 热爱时尚摄影,也喜欢和模特及阵容强大的服务团队合作,但只要有机会拍摄个人作品,Karl 仍然选择将自己的事业推向高峰的商业摄影,毫无疑问,他在这方面绝对是个中高手,经过他的拍摄,极其普通的商品看上去亦如价值上百万的珍品。

Karl 表示:“有句话我很喜欢,就是化腐朽为神奇。我通过严谨细致、敏锐的观察力和对灯光的熟练运用来实现这一点,这些素质是商品摄影成功的关键。无论是拍摄一部 iPhone、一台音响设备还是一瓶威士忌,摄影师都需要观察被摄体并找出其独特之处。必须认真观察商品,旋转不同角度,找出通过摄影可以表现出的各种轮廓或特点,并了解清楚客户想要突显商品的哪些特质。

© Karl Taylor

在做完这些工作后,需要确定如何布光,以及如何让商品看上去既生动又富有吸引力。最重要的是不作任何妥协:许多开始接触商品摄影的摄影师都能拍出不错的照片,但细看会发现其高光欠佳或拍摄角度不对,抑或如果将某处的灯光调亮或稍微调整一下位置,效果会更好。这仅仅是因为他们或是急于完成拍摄,或是当时观察得不够仔细,也可能是认为:‘可以通过 Photoshop 进行处理。’这是行不通的:对所有环节都必须严谨认真、一丝不苟,并且要培养良好的观察力。”

winesmash1_1-compressor© Karl Taylor

Karl 深知,只有拿出优秀的作品才能让客户满意,因此他始终秉持拍摄高质量作品的原则。Karl 表示:“我接触的客户都对拍摄质量有很高的要求。他们知道自己需要什么标准的照片,之所以找到我或同等水平的摄影师,是因为他们知道我们能够达到这一标准。客户知道我们能够想出办法,让他们的期望得以实现。而这正是我热爱摄影的原因:艺术总监会找到我说,我们拍了某个场面,但不确定能不能用拍摄手法呈现出来,而这时我会想办法解决这个问题。”

“这是挑战,也是我前进的动力。因为我的目标一直是,至少使用相机完成最终照片 90% 的工作,最后只需要使用 Photoshop 将我的作品处理得更逼真、更清晰。”

 

www.karltaylorportfolio.com

Facebook: Karl Taylor Photography

Instagram: @karltaylorphotography

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Storyteller | Karl Taylor

From the mundane to the magical

Commercial Hasselblad photographer and trainer Karl Taylor refuses to stand still and is continually looking ahead to his next challenge, relishing the problem solving that comes with the territory.

Playing things safe is not in Karl Taylor’s nature. He’s happiest when pushing the boundaries, whether that’s by setting up a fashion shoot in a hostile environment such as Iceland or, in his role as a Hasselblad ambassador, undertaking a challenging high-speed flash routine in front of a live audience at a show, capturing balloons full of paint at the precise point of exploding. The fact that he invariably succeeds in his endeavours is testament to his considerable technical and creative skills, plus his iron nerve in the face of almost overwhelming expectancy.

© Karl Taylor

“I’ve always enjoyed a challenge,” he smiles. “It starts with me designing an image in my mind, and then I physically sketch it out and look for ways that it might be executed. What drives me are the technical aspects of the lighting, the physics and the problems that I’ll have to overcome, particularly since my aim is always to create as much as possible in-camera rather than rely on Photoshop to get me through. I keep a notepad of images that I want to work on in the future, so when I get the opportunity I try to shoot these. We’ll often film these ideas as they come together and then turn them into tutorials, or workshops or something that we can use for a future live show.”

sidi_boot_copy-compressor© Karl Taylor

Discovering Photography

“I was born and brought up on Guernsey, one of the Channel Islands,” he says, “and when I left school at the age of 16 I landed a promising job in the design industry. However, less than a year later I was made redundant, and I ended up taking a position in a camera shop just to fill a gap while I was looking for something else. That was my introduction to photography, and they used to set us assignments that were designed to give us more experience with the cameras we were selling.

“I became hooked through that, and from that moment forward I just dedicated my life to photography, initially assisting and then carving a career for myself as a photojournalist in my early twenties, working out in South East Asia for three years.”

Hawk-compressor© Karl Taylor

“Eventually I got fed up with not really making a great deal of money, and so I headed for Australia where I worked for a while as an assistant in a commercial studio. It was here that I fell in love with the controlled use of lighting and started to learn the techniques that were involved, and then I came back to Guernsey and set up my own studio. Although it’s an island it’s a good place to be working because there are a lot of off-shore tax businesses and companies based here.”

Product photography, then as now, required the highest quality results and so medium and large format cameras were the order of the day in Karl’s studio from the very beginning. However, the cost of materials back in film days was excruciating. The bill for film and Polaroids was amounting to over £17,000 a year, and as the quality and resolution of camera sensors started to improve Karl looked to find a solution in the form of a Hasselblad H1 and an Imacon back. It was the start of a relationship that’s still going strong today.

vodka_flat_1-compressor© Karl Taylor

“Moving to the H1 meant I could charge the same prices but make more profit as there were no film costs anymore,” he says. “I’ve now been a Hasselblad user for around eleven years, and after working my way through an H3 and then an H4 I’m now using the H5D-50 CCD model and I’m very happy with it. I did use the H5D-50c CMOS-sensored camera while working on the campaign images for Hasselblad’s stand at photokina in 2014, and was blown away by the quality of the files that I could shoot at high ISO speeds. I shot sci-fi themed pictures of a model who was posing and being lit purely by fluorescent tubes. I set ISO speeds of 800 and 1600 and couldn’t believe the quality of the files, even when they’d been blown up to an enormous size. They were virtually noise free, which was amazing.”

© Karl Taylor

For work in the studio, however, where light is more controllable, Karl prefers his CCD-powered camera, enjoying the chance to work with an ISO entry point of just 50, compared to the lowest ISO speed of 100 offered by the H5D-50c. “It just suits what I do,” he says, “but they are both magnificent cameras.”

Accompanying the Hasselblads is a studio full of state-of-the-art lighting kit, powerful, portable and ultra fast, something that’s crucial to Karl’s approach to high-speed photography. He made the decision a few years back to trade in his existing lighting kit for broncolor units and Para reflectors, and it’s combined with his cameras to create the perfect, highly flexible outfit.

© Karl Taylor

Getting Ahead

Although he loves shooting fashion and the whole buzz of working with a model and a full scale support team when he gets a chance to take on personal work, it’s still the product photography that drives Karl’s business, and he’s an absolute master of his craft, capable of being able to make the most ordinary of products look like a million dollars.

“I have a phrase that I like to use,” he says, “which is to say that I turn the mundane into the magical. The way I do this is through precision, observational skills and a mastery of lighting, and all of these things are key to the success of a product shot. You need to be able to look at an object and to identify its characteristics, whether it’s an iPhone, a stereo system or a bottle of whisky that you’re looking to photograph. It’s important to really look at it, to rotate it and to find the contours or the features that will speak to you in a picture, and to realise the elements of the product that the client wants to highlight.

© Karl Taylor

“Once you’ve done that you need to identify how you’re going to light it and what’s going to make the object look sexy and dynamic. The biggest thing is not to compromise: many of those who are moving into product photography for the first time will take a nice photograph, but then you’ll notice a highlight that isn’t quite right, or the angle will be wrong or one of the lights might have been better had it been a bit brighter or positioned a little differently. And it’s simply because they maybe gave up a little bit too soon or they didn’t observe it closely enough, or there was an element of them thinking: ‘I’ll fix it in Photoshop.’ That just doesn’t work: everything has to be ultra precise, with no compromise and very good observational skills.”

winesmash1_1-compressor© Karl Taylor

Karl knows that only the very best will keep his clientele happy, and it’s imperative that he always delivers work that’s of the very highest quality. “The kind of clients I’ve got will expect a high level of performance,” he says. “They know what standard is required and they come to me or photographers who are at the same level because they know we can do it. They know we’ll find a way to make it happen and that we’ll be able to bring their vision to reality. And that’s what I love about it: an art director will come to me and will say we’ve got this shoot, we don’t know if it can be done photographically, and I’ll find a way of making it happen.”

“That’s the challenge and that’s what keeps me motivated. And because I’m always aiming to achieve at least 90 per cent of the final picture in-camera with only the final stages requiring Photoshop my photography looks much more realistic and has a much greater clarity about it.”

 

www.karltaylorportfolio.com

Facebook: Karl Taylor Photography

Instagram: @karltaylorphotography

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer