搜索并排序

Storyteller | Herring & Herring

精致时尚又不拘一格的 Herring & Herring 杂志有了越来越多的忠诚追随者,其专门刊载摄影师 Dimitri Scheblanov Jesper Carlsen 拍摄的作品。

在印刷杂志普遍面临压力的这个时代,很难找到一个出版物不仅能够坚守本色、发展壮大,而且还能有越来越多的热心读者迫不及待地想要知道下一期内容。

“Herring & Herring”是摄影师 Dimitri Scheblanov(俄罗斯人)和 Jesper Carlsen(丹麦人)共同合作的结晶。这两位摄影师 7 年前在纽约相识,于 2013 年开始出版他们的标志性半年刊出版物。该杂志始终秉持着与众不同的风格,基本不刊登广告,仅刊载这两位摄影师拍摄的极具吸引力的作品。

每期都聚焦一个不同的主题,最近一期的主题是“OBJECT”,其中呈现的都是名人肖像照片。

该出版物可谓云集了明星大腕,充分证明了它强大的号召力,参与其拍摄的明星如下: Hilary Swank、Ozzy Osbourne、Emmy Rossum、Lily Allen、Pamela Anderson、Michael Shannon 和 Terry Crews 等等,他们都曾出现在 Dimitri 和 Jesper 最喜爱的相机 Hasselblad H5D-50c 中。

首先,也是最重要的是: 该杂志极具个性的名称由何而来?“我们开始合作时,不想使用自己的名字,因为把一个人的名字放在另一个人的名字之前,会令人感觉很奇怪,”Dimitri 表示。“我们希望合作是平等的,因此我们选择了我们的共同点。因为俄罗斯人和丹麦人的一种重要主食是鲱鱼 (Herring),所以我们觉得这个名字完美无缺:Herring & Herring。

另外,它还能很好地体现我们的个性,因为这听起来既像律师事务所一样令人感到严肃,同时又像个玩笑。这就是我们眼中的自己: 我们对待工作非常严肃,但也希望从中得到乐趣,为我们的作品注入一种幽默感。”

HH-2

选择相机:

相机的选择归根结底就是灵活性和最佳画质,而由 CMOS 支持的 H5D-50c 具有额外优势,它是市场上速度最快的中画幅相机之一。

“我对这款相机爱不释手,”Dimitri 表示。“该相机构造精良,在我们使用过的相机系统中,它是第一个能够在每组拍摄的整个过程中都表现完美的相机系统。我们两人都进行拍摄并相互传递相机,而且我们还必须进行联机拍摄,因此我们非常喜欢通过 Phocus 软件实现的无缝融合。但最重要的是,它能够呈现一流的画质。从照片中就能感觉到差异。”

这完全符合Herring & Herring 的精神,即带来强烈的视觉冲击力: 与其说它是杂志,倒不如说它是休闲图册,里面没有任何撰写的社论、访谈、趋势预测或美容小贴士,而只是一系列极具吸引力且相互关联的图片。“我们的杂志已经出版了两年,”Dimitri 说,“现在已销往大约 25 个国家或地区。我们采用重磅美术纸印刷杂志,封面和致谢名单处嵌有金箔压花文字,而且印刷、纸质和装订的制作水准都非常高。即使如此,我们仍然决定尽可能地将售价控制在可接受的范围内,每本仅售 20 美元。出版成本可以通过发售、精选出的美容时尚品牌和封底的一则广告来抵偿。”

 

每期主题在最终定稿之前并不总是很明确,这完全取决于 Dimitri 和 Jesper 拍摄前的想法,以及他们在将所有内容整合在一起后的实际感受。这两位摄影师负责杂志的全部拍摄工作以及全部创意方向和概念的构思。此外,还有一个小团队,负责监督制作、明星关系、选角和一般日常杂志工作。

“我们在非常努力地和参与该杂志拍摄的明星进行合作,希望集思广益,呈现出让我们都引以为豪的人物肖像照片和评论,”Dimitri 表示。“开拍之前,我们会反复地与要拍摄的明星进行多次沟通。我们希望他们能够融入到拍摄当中,而不只是‘露个笑脸’。这对我们来说会有趣得多,而我们知道他们也会乐在其中。

“能够与如此多的明星大腕合作,我们感到非常幸运。对每期杂志,我们都会事先整理出一份给我们带来灵感的艺人名单,他们都是因个性或工作而对我们产生某种程度的影响的艺人。然后,我们会与他们的代理人取得联系,看看他们是否有时间并有意与我们合作。由于我们的出版和流程并非传统方式,所以需要一支精干的团队(管理人员、公关人员和演艺明星)来确定对某个项目(如我们正在编辑的项目)投入时间所带来的价值。但是随着每期杂志的出版,我们越来越容易吸引到演艺明星,这对我们来说是一件好事,因为我们需要在每期中呈现绝佳的人物组合。翻开新的一页后,看到标题旁意想不到的人物或演艺新秀会令人感觉很棒。”

Dimitri 和 Jesper 不仅要拍摄每期 Herring & Herring,而且还担任杂志出版人,负责联络能够向全球报摊、书店和博物馆发行杂志的人员。该任务十分艰巨,因为如果无法从始至终处理好整个杂志制作过程,刊物就无法找到销路。

“这是一项艰巨的任务,”Dimitri 坦承道,“该杂志确实占用了我们大部分的时间。然而,我们仍会承接 Herring & Herring 以外的拍摄工作,为其他出版物进行拍摄以及为品牌拍摄商业作品,实际上对我们来说是一个很好的休息机会。有时,制作杂志的艰辛会影响单纯拍照带来的简单乐趣,因此我们乐意为别人拍摄。而且,还可以借此机会结识可能会成为我们未来创作合作者或主体的新朋友。”

更多信息:

www.herringandherring.com

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Storyteller | Herring & Herring

The stylish and eclectic Herring & Herring magazine has a dedicated and growing following and is populated exclusively by images produced by photographers Dimitri Scheblanov and Jesper Carlsen.

At a time when printed magazines in general are under pressure it’s refreshing to find a title out there that’s not only standing its ground but is positively blooming, with an enthusiastic and expanding army of readers who can’t wait to find out what’s going to be covered in the next issue.

HH-5

‘Herring & Herring’ is the brainchild of two photographers, Dimitri Scheblanov (a Russian) and Jesper Carlsen (a Dane), who met up in New York seven years ago and began publishing their iconic biannual title in 2013. Steadfastly different, the magazine carries minimal advertising and is populated with striking imagery produced exclusively by the pair.

Every issue focuses on a different theme, with the latest, ‘OBJECT’ being packed with celebrity portraits.

HH-4

 

And, proving the pulling power that this title now exerts, there’s an impressive line-up of talent inside: the likes of Hilary Swank, Ozzy Osbourne, Emmy Rossum, Lily Allen, Pamela Anderson, Michael Shannon and Terry Crews, all shot with the Dimitri and Jesper’s favourite camera, a Hasselblad H5D-50c.

First things first: where did that crazy name for the magazine come from? “When we started out working together we didn’t want to use our names, because it seemed strange to put one person’s name before the other,” says Dimitri. “We wanted to be democratic about the partnership so instead we chose something we had in common. A key Russian and Danish staple food is the Herring, so we thought this would be perfect: Herring & Herring.

It’s also a good reflection of our personalities in that it can sound serious, like a law firm or be a bit of a joke. That’s how we see ourselves: we’re very serious about our work but like to have fun and inject a sense of humour in to our pictures.”

 

Choosing a Camera:

The choice of camera came down to what could tick all the boxes in terms of flexibility and delivery of ultimate image quality, with the CMOS-powered H5D-50c having the extra bonus of being one of the fastest medium format models on the market.

“There is just so much to love about this camera,” says Dimitri. “It’s superbly built and is the first camera system we’ve ever used that performed flawlessly throughout every session. We both shoot and pass the camera between us and shooting tethered is a must, so we love the seamless integration we get with Phocus software. But above all it’s about the incredible image quality. You just have to see the pictures to experience the difference.”

This ideally suits the ethos of Herring & Herring, which is strongly visual: more of a coffee table book than a magazine, there are no written editorials, interviews, trend forecasts or beauty tips, just a striking set of interrelated images. “We’ve been putting out the magazine for the past two years,” says Dimitri, “and now go out to around 25 countries. We print on heavyweight art paper, with gold foil embossed text on the cover and credits band, and the printing, paper stock and finishes all have very high production values. Even so, we’re determined to make the cost as affordable as possible, just $20, and the cost of publication is met by issue sales and a selection of beauty and fashion brands and a single ad on the back page.”

HH-2

 

The theme of each issue isn’t always clear until its finished – it all depends on the ideas Dimitri and Jesper have prior to shooting and what they actually feel once the whole thing has been put together. The pair shoots all of the content for the magazine and comes up with all of the creative direction and concepts. Outside of that there’s just a very small team involved that oversees production, talent relationships, casting and the general day-to-day magazine work.

“We really try to work together with the talent in the magazine to build portraits and editorials that we are all proud of and to which we have all contributed creatively,” says Dimitri. “There is a lot of back and forth with the celebrities we shoot before we get on set. We want them to be part of the process and not just”show up and smile”. It’s a lot more fun for us that way and we know they enjoy that process as well.

“We feel extremely lucky to have worked with such an incredible line-up of artists. For each issue we put together a list of entertainers that have inspired us; people whose personalities or work has somehow influenced us. We then reach out to their representatives and see if they are available and would be interested in collaborating with us. Since our publication and process is non-traditional, it takes a smart team (managers, publicists and talent) to recognise the value of investing time in to a project like the one we’re putting together. But with each issue it gets easier to attract talent, which is good because it’s important for us to have a great mix of characters in each issue. Turning a page and seeing someone unexpected or totally new to the scene next to a legend is really cool.”

HH-1

 

Not only do Dimitri and Jesper photograph each issue of Herring & Herring, they’re also the publishers and are responsible for liaising with those who can organise the magazine’s distribution to newsstands, bookstores and museums all around the world. It’s a huge responsibility, and without having a handle on the whole process of magazine production from start to finish there’s no way an issue would find its way out into the market.

“It’s a big undertaking,” Dimitri concedes, “and the magazine does take up most of our time. However, we do still take on commissions outside of Herring & Herring, and it’s actually a great break for us to shoot for other publications and to do commercial work for brands. Sometimes the hard work of producing the magazine gets in the way of the simple fun of just taking pictures, so we love shooting for others. It’s also a great way to meet new people who might turn out to be future creative collaborators or subjects.”

More information:

www.herringandherring.com

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer