搜索并排序

莫扎特的“黄油小提琴”和 Frederick Bertin 的 Hasselblad 相机

2016-01-19 莫扎特将其最钟爱的小提琴称作“黄油小提琴”(似乎是因为其优美柔和的音色就像黄油一样香醇细腻)

生于法国的顶级肖像摄影师 Frederick-Edwin Bertin 表示,他也拥有自己专属的 黄油小提琴”,那就是 Hasselblad 相机。

Frederick 是一位拥有三十多年拍摄经验的资深摄影师,也是中画幅相机摄影的骨灰级玩家(尽管他承认,他正考虑参与一个重大的摄影项目,用 CFV-50c 数码后背为纽约一家杂志社拍摄照片)。他刚刚宣布,瑞典银行将在要发行的新版 200 克朗纸币上使用他于 1998 年在斯德哥尔摩为世界著名电影导演英格玛•伯格曼拍摄的肖像照片。

IngmarBergmanIngmar Bergman by Frederick-Edwin Bertin

他说:“这让我倍感荣幸。这位被誉为电影艺术史上最伟大人物之一的导演与世界最大的相机制造商都与瑞典有着不可分割的联系,他们这次能够产生交集,凸显了这个具有创新精神的北欧国家所拥有的非凡天赋和创造力。”

这张伯格曼的肖像照片来之不易,是 Frederick 经过五年不寻常的努力付出才换来的成果。

他用了两年时间写信给伯格曼进行沟通,随后搬到斯德哥尔摩,在接下来的三年里都围绕在伯格曼团队里的人身边拍摄(包括演员、技术人员和助理),共创作出 98 张摄影作品。

Frederick 指出:“伯格曼是一位才华横溢的导演,他喜欢挑战,有时候不按常规方式行事。在他人生中,只有两次准许摄影师为其拍肖像照。一次是 Irving Penn,另一次就是我。那几年我一直坚持不懈地努力着,我的苦心没有白费,终于等到为伯格曼单独拍摄的机会,虽然只有 20 分钟。我们将地点定在斯德哥尔摩皇家剧院的一个包间里,当时只有伯格曼和我,还有我的 Hasselblad 500CM 相机。为了那一刻,所有等待和付出都是值得的。”

能够为伯格曼这样神秘莫测的人物拍摄肖像是 Frederick 这五年来一直执着不变的目标,而这个目标差点就未能实现。事实上,他也差一点与成为杰出摄影师的这个理想失之交臂。Frederick 在十几岁的时候险些失明。

他说:“我感染了一种病毒,嘴唇上长了唇疱疹。后来病毒蔓延到了我的眼睛,侵蚀了我的角膜。接着另一只眼睛也被感染。”

Frederick 的父亲带他到位于伦敦的世界著名的摩菲眼科医院进行治疗,医生告诉他们,如果他晚来 48 小时,就将永远失去光明。

在他休养的三个月里,一次海德公园之旅让他领悟了摄影的真谛。

他记得:“那时刚刚下了场大雨,在阳光的照耀下,一串串水滴在静美而绚丽的片片秋叶上闪闪发光。对我来说,这是一个不可思议的时刻,我真正领悟到了‘看见’的含义,从那一刻起,我决定成为一名摄影师。”

Frederick 读了大学,后来在巴黎成为了一名摄影助理。但在 1981 年,他再次被这种病毒感染,他于是又回到摩菲眼科医院进行深入治疗。

他说:“我下定决心要彻底康复,这赢得了我父亲的支持,他为我买了我人生中第一部 Hasselblad 相机 – 就是这个超级棒的全黑闪亮的 500CM。他说,我应该配备最好的摄影工具。”

从那一刻起,Fredrick 义无反顾地走上了摄影之路。他的摄影装备不但有魅力难挡的 500CM 相机,还有后来的 503CW 相机以及他无比信赖的 203FE 相机(搭配三套性能卓越的 F 系列镜头)。有了这些利器在身,他开始为《时尚》等国际知名杂志拍摄照片,由此开启专业摄影师的职业生涯。

在 1998 年为伯格曼拍照时,他所选的相机是 500CM。

他兴奋地说:“我喜欢那台相机。和伯格曼团队共事的三年里,我无时无刻不把它带在身边。我被演职人员们戏称为‘白狼’。我觉得之所以得到这个外号,是因为他们都知道我像追踪猎物一样高度关注伯格曼的一举一动。”

“当时,我已经为伯格曼团队成员拍摄了近百张肖像照片,但是一个念头时常萦绕着我,那就是尽管我煞费苦心,可我还是有可能无法与伯格曼本人接触。那样的话,我这五年的努力就白费了。

但随后发生了不可思议的事情。一天,我与伯格曼的演员们在一个咖啡馆里用餐,他们把我介绍给一个年轻人,他声称伯格曼正在给他上课,但是他却放肆地将他的老师称作‘一个老头’。

平时我是个很冷静的人,但那一刻我真的对他动了怒。当时,大家正用法语说“芥末呛到鼻子”,然后我就听到他这样讲。我简直不敢相信这个年轻人竟然对伯格曼这位电影界的巨擘如此不敬。

因为我的发火,整个咖啡馆顿时安静下来。就在第二天,我收到了伯格曼本人的留言,说他愿意和我合作。”

五年的等待终于结束了。

Frederick 回忆说:“那天早上我就像一个要冲刺的奥运会运动员一样。我在当地的一个公园里走来走去,试图平复自己的紧张情绪。我认真检查了我的 Hasselblad 相机、测光表和电池。接着检查了一遍又一遍。

然后伯格曼走进了包间,坐了下来。我通常会指挥拍摄对象摆出我想要的姿势。但对伯格曼,我没有这样做。

我用 Hasselblad 相机拍摄时会使用三脚架。我设定好相机,布置好画面,并跪在相机旁边。我没有使用特殊的照明方法。我喜欢日光。窗口就在我的身后,我要确保自己没有挡到这么重要的光源。

就在我们谈论他的一个电影时,他突然向我做出这个令人印象深刻的微笑。我并没有叫他这样做,但一切就这样自然地发生了,就好像我们是老友一样。”

“我凭着第一感觉就认定这就是我要的镜头,我没有一丝犹豫,当即按下快门。他很高兴,因为他知道我捕获到了这一瞬间。”

他补充说:“我至今也没有忘记那个美妙时刻。Hasselblad 相机就好像我自己的‘黄油小提琴’,让我情有独钟,爱不释手。在我创作肖像摄影作品时,我可以完全专注于拍摄对象,因为我的相机始终稳稳地放置在三脚架上,不会分散我的注意力,让我对眼前要拍摄的人物至少保持 60% 的感悟力。”

在斯德哥尔摩这三年的肖像摄影工作充满了紧张和压力,在此之后,Frederick 需要做出改变,于是他开始转向拍摄风景和植物。

2005 年,他拍摄的大西洋植物组合在“Hasselblad 大师”摄影大赛中成为获奖作品。目前,他正打算带着新款 CFV-50c 数码后背参与纽约的一个重大项目。

Fredrick 的职业生涯还有一段有趣的小插曲,谈到这里,Fredrick 笑了。

他说:“其实我的妈妈一点都不希望我成为一名摄影师。当我告诉她我已下定决心时,她足足三年没有和我说话。她非常希望我成为一个银行家。

可我拍的伯格曼的照片就要印在银行钞票上了,这是多么奇妙的巧合!”

www.frederickedwinbertin.com

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Mozart’s ‘butter violin’ and Frederick Bertin’s Hasselblad camera

2016-01-19 Mozart used to refer to a favourite fiddle as his ‘butter violin’ (due to its exquisite soft tone apparently)

Top French-born portrait photographer Frederick-Edwin Bertin reveals he has his very own ‘violon de beurre’ – it’s his Hasselblad.

A fanatically loyal disciple of medium format film capture for over three decades (although he confesses he is contemplating a landmark shooting project for a New York-based magazine with a CFV-50c digital back) Frederick has just announced that The Bank of Sweden is to use an iconic photograph he took of Ingmar Bergman, one of the world’s most famous film directors, in Stockholm in 1998, on its next issue of 200 kronor banknotes.

IngmarBergmanIngmar Bergman by Frederick-Edwin Bertin

‘It’s a great honour for me” he says, “and of course the Sweden connection between the man frequently described  as the greatest director who ever lived and the maker of the world’s greatest cameras, serves to highlight the remarkable flair and ingenuity that is resident in this innovative Scandinavian country.”

The Bergman photograph was the final triumphant result after Frederick’s soul-wrenching five year mission to take a portrait of the great man.

He had spent two years writing letters to Bergman and then followed that up by moving to Stockholm and investing the next three years of his life painstakingly generating 98 photographs of the Bergman coterie of actors, technicians and assistants.

“Bergman was a very brilliant man, always a challenge and with an occasional tendency to act in unconventional ways” notes Frederick.  “There were only ever two authorised portrait sittings in his entire life. One was with Irving Penn and the other was with me. I laboured non-stop for all those years before I was finally rewarded with a single 20 minute session with Bergman.  It was just Bergman, me and my Hasselblad 500CM in a room in Stockholm’s Royal Dramatic Theatre. And it was worth the wait and the extreme effort.”

But Frederick’s half a decade-long obsession to photograph the enigmatic Bergman very nearly never got off the ground. Indeed, his exemplary career as a photographer nearly never got off the ground either. As a teenager Frederick almost went blind.

“I picked up the same virus that creates cold sores on lips” he says, “But it went to my eye and started to attack my cornea. Then the other eye also became infected.”

Frederick’s father took him to London’s world-famous Moorfields Eye Hospital where a doctor announced that had he turned up 48 hours later it would have been too late to save his sight.

It was during a trip to Hyde Park as part of his three month-long recuperation that Fredrick experienced his photographic epiphany moment.

He remembers: “It had just rained very hard and the sun was causing the water droplets to sparkle on the stunning autumn leaves. To me that was an incredible moment of ‘seeing’ and I decided there and then to become a photographer.”

Frederick went to college and later became a photo-assistant in Paris. But in 1981 the virus struck again and he ended up back at Moorfields for more treatment.

He says: “My father was so impressed with my determination to fully recover that he went out and bought me my first Hasselblad – this wonderful all black and shiny 500CM. He said I deserved to have the best tool available.”

From that point Fredrick never looked back.  Armed with his ‘alluring and sexy’ 500CM and later  a 503CW and then his trusty 203FE – complete with three ‘magnificent’ F Series lenses he began to build  his career working with key international magazines including Vogue.

But the camera of choice for the 1998 Bergman shot was the 500CM.

“I loved this capture tool” he enthuses. “I took it everywhere with me during the three years I spent with the Bergman troupe. I was known as the ‘white wolf’ amongst the actors and technicians…I think that nickname sprung up because they all knew I was so highly focused on tracking down Ingmar Bergman.”

“I had reached the point, having taken almost one hundred portraits of the group, that I started to be haunted by the thought that despite all this effort I still might never get to Bergman himself – and then I would have wasted five years of my working life.

But then something incredible happened. I was in a café bar with the Bergman actors and they introduced me to a young man who announced that he was being taught by Bergman – but he labelled him quite negatively as just ‘a very old man’.

Well I am normally quite calm but I really lost my temper with him. And as we say in France ‘the mustard really got in my nose’ when I heard that. I couldn’t believe this young man was talking about Bergman – one of the true greats of the cinema world – so disparagingly.

The entire café audience went quiet. But the very next day I had a note from Bergman himself to say he would commit to the photograph now.”

The five year wait was over.

Recalls Frederick: “That morning I was like an Olympic athlete just before a final sprint. I paced the local park trying to calm my nerves. I checked my Hasselblad; light meter and batteries. Then I checked them again. And then again.

Then Bergman walked in and sat down. I always direct my sitters for the pose I want. But not him.

I shoot with my Hasselblad on a tripod. The camera was set. I constructed the frame and knelt next to the camera. There was no special lighting. I like daylight. I had the window behind me and made sure I was not blocking this key light source.

We were talking about one of his films and suddenly he just gave me this amazing smile. I didn’t direct for that. It just happened. It was like we had been friends for a long time.”

“I knew instinctively that was the shot and I didn’t hesitate. I just took the picture. He was pleased because he knew I had captured it.”

He adds: “And that moment still stays with me. My enchantment with Hasselblad  – my own violon de beurre – is that when I construct a portrait my concentration can be totally with the sitter – because my camera is always on the tripod – and that affords me at least 60% more awareness of what I am doing in the moment.”

After the stresses and strains of three years of portrait shooting in Stockholm Frederick needed change and he switched to photographing landscapes and plants.

In 2005 he became a Hasselblad Master for his ‘Atlantic Plants Portfolio’ – and now, with his eye on the new CFV-50c digital back, he is contemplating a landmark project in New York.

But there is still a touch of wonderful irony about his career path that makes Fredrick smile.

banknoteHe says: “My mother never ever wanted me to be a photographer. When I told her that I had made my decision she didn’t talk to me for three years. She really wanted me to be a banker.

How strange that now my photograph of Bergman will be on a banknote!”

www.frederickedwinbertin.com

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer