搜索并排序

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:婚礼类得主 John Paul Evans 

2016-01-22 至死不渝

生活在英国德文郡的摄影师 John Paul Evans 凭借一幅独具特色、令人叹服的同性恋婚姻照片赢得了 2016 “婚礼”类的 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:婚礼中主角正是他本人。

hasselblad_masters_2016_John_paulWinning entry in the Wedding category photographed by Hasselblad Master John Paul Evans

他的获奖照片是“至死不渝”系列照片中的一张,与“传统”婚礼照片截然不同。

John Paul Evans 并非一位商业婚礼摄影师,而是一位学者。他的主要兴趣在于通过摄影来突出性别、性倾向和“他性”的概念。

2013 年婚姻法修改议案提出后,他开始为自己和 Peter(他当时的同性伴侣,如今已成为他的配偶)拍摄肖像照。

他表示:“从学术角度来看,我对于人们用摄影来突出家庭和常态概念的做法非常不满。因此,我和 Peter 共同生活的 26 年来,我们拍的照片少之又少。

“现在我马上就要 50 岁了,Peter 也快要 80 岁了,我开始迫不及待地想要拍摄一些有别于传统婚礼照片的另类作品。我们摆出各种夫妻/婚姻/婚礼肖像照的拍照姿势,通过这种方法拍出另类的家庭/婚礼照片,以此作为我们曾在这个世界上生活过的印记。”

他补充说:“我想要借助墙上挂着的照片和无人穿着的西装来表达一种疏离感和失落感或者说空虚感,因为我知道我们存在一些年龄差距,不可能白头到老。

在尝试过众多中画幅相机和原始技术(例如中画幅针孔相机)之后,John Paul 决定购入千禧年版 503CW,这是因为他认为 Hasselblad 是此类相机中的巅峰之作。“我用 Imacon X1 来扫描所有底片。”他表示。“不过,我最近买了一款 50c 数码后背,这让我可以将 503CW 当作数码相机使用,同时又可以保留俯视取景器中画幅摄影所需的慢节奏摄影方式。”

赢得这一类别的摄影大师奖让他受宠若惊,至今他仍然不敢相信这个事实。“很高兴 2016 年的 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖能够颁给一个另类的婚姻摄影作品,”他说。“能够获得提名已经是莫大的荣幸,我真没有想到这样一张可能会被认为是批评婚礼摄影的照片居然能最终获奖。”

www.johnpaulevans.co.uk

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016: Wedding Category Winner John Paul Evans

2016-01-22 Till death us do part

Devon-based photographer John Paul Evans won the Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016 ‘Wedding’ category with a unique and compelling still-life image of a gay marriage: his own.

hasselblad_masters_2016_John_paulWinning entry in the Wedding category photographed by Hasselblad Master John Paul Evans

His winning picture is part of a series entitled ‘Till death us do part.’- and light years away from ‘traditional’ wedding photography. John Paul Evans is not a commercial wedding photographer. As an academic his main interest is in how photography is deployed to reinforce concepts of gender, sexuality and ‘otherness’.

Following the change in marriage law proposed in 2013 he began to make portraits with his then civil partner, and now married partner, Peter. He says: “From an academic point of view I was critical of the way that photography is used to reinforce concepts of the family and normality. As a consequence, I have very few images of the 26 years that Peter and I have spent together.

“As I am now entering my 50s and Peter is in his late 70s, there was an urgency to address this in my own mind and create alternatives to traditional wedding photographs. Our performance of various permutations of the couple/marriage/wedding portrait is a way of addressing this for me in creating an alternative family/wedding album, and leaving a trace of our presence in the world.”

He adds: “The pictures on the wall and the empty suits in this context I intended to reference both alienation and loss/absence because I am aware of our age difference and the inevitable fact that we cannot grow old together.” After working with a number of medium format cameras and more primitive technologies, such as a medium format pinhole camera, John Paul decided to buy a millennium edition 503CW because he considered Hasselblad to be the pinnacle of the genre. “I scan all my negatives with an Imacon X1,” he says. “I have, however, recently purchased a CFV-50c digital back to enable me work digitally with my 503CW, but still retain the slow pace of image-making that waist-level finder – medium format photography demands.”

Winning this category took him by surprise, and he’s still getting used to the idea. “I was delighted that Hasselblad chose an alternative representation of marriage photography for the 2016 prize,” he says. “It was wonderful to be selected for the shortlist, but I didn’t expect an image that, if anything, could be read as a critique of the genre of wedding photography could be the overall winner.”

 

www.johnpaulevans.co.uk

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

The ten winners will be tasked to create a new and unique set of images, using a Hasselblad Medium Format camera, embracing the theme ‘Inspire’ (coinciding with Hasselblad’s 75th anniversary) for the latest edition of the Hasselblad Masters Book. The Winners will receive their trophy and their own Hasselblad camera to keep at a special photokina 2016 ceremony in Cologne this September.

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer