搜索并排序

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:街道/城市类获奖者 Ali Rajabi

2016-01-26  “我将街道视为一个巨型摄影棚”

对于 Ali Rajabi 和他的相机来说,街道一直是个素材无穷的摄影地。

他说:“我坚定地认为,男人和女人是这个世界上你可以拍摄到的最丰富的主题。我将街道视为一个巨型摄影棚,你可以在这里拍出各种形式和概念的作品。”

hasselblad_master_2016_street_ali_rajabi
Winning entry in the Street/Urban category photographed by Hasselblad Master Ali Rajabi

Ali 在伊朗出生和长大,现居住在纽约,2001 年,21 岁的他开启了自己的职业生涯,开始在德黑兰理工学院教书。“我主要教授图形设计,”他说道,“但是我还为伊朗的摄影师组办了许多研讨会和课程,2005 年,我认为这些学生需要进一步了解如何使用 Photoshop 来帮助他们进行后期润饰和色彩管理。这就促使我去磨练自己的摄影技巧,一年后我发现我已经离不开相机了。”

Ali 希望建立一个教学机构,为所有学生提供平等教育机会,经历两次失败之后,2010 年他终于在网上成功开办了 Atrin 摄影师和图形设计师教育中心 (Atrin Centre for Photographers and Graphic Designers),现在该网站已成为伊朗业内最大的一家。

Ali 的一大梦想是以雪为主题拍摄一系列的街道作品,而机会却在偶然间与他不期而遇。“我肠道一直不是很好,”他说道,“准备赶回伊朗接受治疗。这张赢得 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖的作品拍摄于我乘航班飞回的头一天,虽然当时我感觉身体非常糟糕,但是不想错过拍摄落雪美景的大好机会。我服下了两三片强效止痛药,然后出门投身到零下 17 度的低温当中。

“当我最终抵达第六大道时,眼前便是这番景象。我等亮起红灯,便纵身跳到马路中间,迅速按下了快门。我到现在还能清晰地记得后面出租车冲我发出的鸣笛声!”

Ali 凌晨 3 点钟在手机上接收到一封告知他获奖的电子邮件。“我沉默了大约三四十秒钟,”他说道,“然后我感谢上帝,我兴奋地叫了出来。每次想到这个奖项,我脑中都会浮现出许多曾经荣获过 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖的摄影大师们的名字,这对我是一个巨大的鞭策,让我能够更加努力地工作。”

www.ali-rajabi.com

Facebook: Ali Rajabi

Instagram: @nightblueman

这十名获奖者将被邀请使用 Hasselblad 中画幅相机为最新一期的《Hasselblad 摄影大师图册》(Hasselblad Masters Book) 拍摄一组以“启发”为主题的全新特色照片(恰逢 Hasselblad 75 周年)。我们将在今年 9 月于科隆举办的 2016 年世界影像博览会的特别典礼上为获奖者颁发奖杯和 Hasselblad 相机。

Hasselblad Masters 2016

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016: Street/Urban Category Winner Ali Rajabi

2016-01-26  ‘I just see the streets as a giant studio’

The streets have always been a fruitful hunting ground for Ali Rajabi and his camera.

He says: “I strongly believe that men and women are the most powerful subject you can photograph in the whole world. I just see the streets as a giant studio where you can capture your subject in every form and concept.”

hasselblad_master_2016_street_ali_rajabi
Winning entry in the Street/Urban category photographed by Hasselblad Master Ali Rajabi

Born and raised in Iran and now living in New York, Ali started his career in 2001 at the age of just 21, when he started teaching at the Teheran Institute of Technology. “The main area I covered was graphic design,” he notes, “but I also organised numerous seminars and courses for Iranian photographers, and by 2005 I thought these students needed to be given more information about the ways in which Photoshop could help them with their retouching and colour management. This led me to work on my own photographic skills, and a year later I realised I couldn’t live without my camera.”

Ali’s aim was to set up a teaching facility that could offer equal opportunities to all learners, and after twice failing to get it off the ground he finally managed to establish the online Atrin Centre for Photographers and Graphic Designers in 2010, which is now the biggest site of its kind in Iran.

One of Ali’s goals in life was to create a body of street work that was based around the theme of snow, and he got his opportunity in an unexpected fashion. “I’d been suffering with a severe intestinal problem,” he says, “and was due to return to Iran to receive treatment. I took the shot that won me the Hasselblad Masters category a day before my flight back, and although I was very sick at the time I didn’t want to miss the chance of photographing the beautiful snow that had just fallen. I took two or three strong painkillers and headed out into temperatures of minus 17.

“Eventually I arrived at 6th Avenue and suddenly saw this scene in front of me. I waited for the red lights and then jumped in the middle of street and took the shot. Believe me I can still remember the horn of the taxi behind me blaring out!”

Ali received the news of his win via an email he received at 3am on his mobile phone. “I was silent for around 30 or 40 seconds,” he says, “and then I thanked God and let out a big scream. Every time I think about this award I visualise the big names who have won a Hasselblad Masters Award in the past and it gives me tons of energy to work harder than ever.”

www.ali-rajabi.com

Facebook: Ali Rajabi

Instagram: @nightblueman

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

The ten winners will be tasked to create a new and unique set of images, using a Hasselblad Medium Format camera, embracing the theme ‘Inspire’ (coinciding with Hasselblad’s 75th anniversary) for the latest edition of the Hasselblad Masters Book. The Winners will receive their trophy and their own Hasselblad camera to keep at a special photokina 2016 ceremony in Cologne this September.

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer