搜索并排序

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:Project//21 类获奖者 Jake Reeder

2016-02-18  “在他与我握手并消失前我拍摄了这张照片”

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖 Project//21 类(针对 21 周岁以下摄影爱好者)设立之目的在于鼓励新一代的摄影爱好者,多年来其开放的形式催生了许多想象力非凡的杰作。

hasselblad_masters_2016_jake_reederWinning entry in the Project//21 category photographed by Hasselblad Master Jake Reeder 

居住在墨尔本的摄影师 Jake Reeder 错过了恭贺他获奖的电话,之后当他接听到语音留言时,他感到十分意外,以至于认为这肯定是告知他落选的礼貌性消息。“在我参赛的类别中有许多非常优秀的作品,真想不到我的会被选中。”他说道,“之后我查看了电子邮件,确实是真的,我高兴得差点昏过去!”

Jake 去年 12 月度过了自己 20 岁生日,他一直对摄影痴迷不已。他无时无刻不在摆弄相机。“我曾认为自己不可能以摄影为生。”他说道,“然而在最后一刻,我改了大学所有选课,专心学习摄影。

“与一些摄影师的接触促使我做出了这一决定,慢慢地我意识到,我可以一辈子做自己喜欢的事。此后我从没有后悔过,去年我从大学毕业,并获得了摄影学士学位。”

Jake 在巴布亚新几内亚生活过五年,被这块土地及这里的文化深深吸引,在决定回去拍摄一组他认为能够改善这个国家形象的个人作品后,他拍下了这张获奖图片。“大家都认为巴布亚新几内亚是一个危险、无法治、野蛮的地方,这让我感觉非常痛心。”他说道,“因为我知道他们有着友好、高贵及和睦的一面。

“我在那里呆了两周,在我到后第一天便拍摄了这张渔民照片。我住在当地一户人家,他们都是我的朋友,其中一位还热心地给我当助理。我们来到一片美丽的海滩,当我在给一名儿童拍肖像照时,发现远处水中有一群人。

在快速解释完我们的打算之后,我们几个人淌水过去,一个人带着电池组,另一个拿着灯,我自己则手握 Hasselblad!

“渔民与他的家人在一起,刚刚结束捕捞。“他正在赶回去的路上,在跟我握手并消失之前他允许我给他拍摄了一张照片,这几近梦幻。直到回去在电脑上看到这张照片时我才意识到我拍到了什么。

 

www.jakereeder.com

Facebook: Jake Reeder

Instagram: @jakereederphoto

 

如需查看 2016 年 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖所有获奖作品,请点击此处

这十名获奖者将被邀请使用 Hasselblad 中画幅相机为最新一期的《Hasselblad 摄影大师图册》(Hasselblad Masters Book) 拍摄一组以“启发”为主题的全新特色照片(恰逢 Hasselblad 75 周年)。我们将在今年 9 月于科隆举办的 2016 年世界影像博览会的特别典礼上为获奖者颁发奖杯和 Hasselblad 相机。

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016: Project//21 Category Winner Jake Reeder

2016-02-18 ‘I took one picture before he shook my hand and disappeared’

The mission of the Hasselblad Masters Project//21 Category is to encourage the next generation of photographers, and its open format has encouraged some extraordinary imagery over the years.

hasselblad_masters_2016_jake_reederWinning entry in the Project//21 category photographed by Hasselblad Master Jake Reeder 

When Melbourne-based photographer Jake Reeder missed the live call telling him he’d won the category the voicemail he later picked up was so unexpected he assumed it must have been a courtesy message to tell him he’d missed out. “There were so many other amazing shots in my category I couldn’t believe that my picture would be the one that was picked,” he says. “But then I checked my emails and there it was: I almost fainted!”

Jake, who turned 20 last December, has always been obsessed with photography. He doesn’t remember a time when he wasn’t fiddling with a camera. “I had been convinced there was no way I could make a living out of being a photographer,” he says. “And then right at the last moment I changed all my university preferences and photography replaced everything else. “This decision was spurred partially through meeting photographers and it slowly dawning on me that I could do what I loved for the rest of my life. I haven’t looked back since and graduated from university late last year with my BA (Photography).”

Having spent five years living in Papua New Guinea Jake feels a strong connection to the land and its culture, He took his winning picture there after deciding to head back to shoot a personal project that he hoped would present a positive image of the country. “The representation of PNG as a dangerous, lawless and brutal place has always frustrated me,” he says. “The side I saw was one of kindness, dignity and community.

“I took the fisherman image on the first day of the two weeks I was there. I was staying at a family friend’s place, and one of them kindly offered to be my assistant for the day. We ended up on a gorgeous beach, and while I was taking a child’s portrait I spotted a group in the distance, in the water.

After explaining quickly what we wanted to do a few of us waded out, one person carrying the battery pack, another with my light and myself with my Hasselblad!

“The fisherman was out with his family, and had just caught something. He was on his way back and let me take just one photo of him, before shaking hands and disappearing – it was almost ethereal. I didn’t realise what I had until I got back to base and saw it pop up on the computer.”

 

www.jakereeder.com

Facebook: Jake Reeder

Instagram: @jakereederphoto

 

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

The ten winners will be tasked to create a new and unique set of images, using a Hasselblad Medium Format camera, embracing the theme ‘Inspire’ (coinciding with Hasselblad’s 75th anniversary) for the latest edition of the Hasselblad Masters Book. The Winners will receive their trophy and their own Hasselblad camera to keep at a special photokina 2016 ceremony in Cologne this September.

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer