搜索并排序

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:产品类,Giorgio Cravero

2016-02-12 “一想到要在办公室里分析数字,心里实在惶恐”

Giorgio Cravero 于高中毕业后进入大学攻读经济学专业,当时他希望日后能在金融业获得稳定发展。

hasselblad_masters_2016_product_giorgiocraveroWinning entry in the Product category photographed by Hasselblad Master Giorgio Cravero 

然而经过两年的学习,他逐渐意识到,跟数字打交道或许真的非己所长。“一想到余生都要在办公室里分析数据,心里实在惶恐。”他说,“我是个始终充满好奇心的人,常常着迷于视觉影像,在此之前自己玩摄影也已有些年头。当时觉得既然我对摄影如此钟爱,不能只当作消遣,于是决定将它作为一生的职业。”

Giorgio 随后调整方向,在欧洲设计学院 (European Institute of Design) 报名参加了一门为期三年的课程,同时担任学院几位教授的摄影助理,半工半读完成学业。

他以优异的成绩毕业于视觉传达系,后来在意大利都灵开设自己的工作室,专门从事建筑及静物摄影。

“和所有完美主义者一样,我一直认为需要完全掌控自己所做的事。”他表示,“工作室静物拍摄之所以吸引我,是因为能够全面控制光线。我并非求‘快’的摄影师,而是需要思考,尝试光线和构图,直到自己完全满意。我总在探索新思路,启动具有独创性的个人项目,以此丰富自己的作品集。

“为我赢得 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖的香蕉照片是其中一个项目的组成部分,这个项目旨在研究食物、人与自然之间的关系。我们将水果和蔬菜悬挂起来,随后将一部分浸入一桶蛋彩画颜料中,取出之后等待效果最好的‘滴流’时刻。我选出最佳照片后,再交给工作室后期制作主管 Ivan Nikodimovich 处理,包括降低饱和度、清理以及调整色彩参数,以达到颜料与物体之间的均衡。”

获悉作品夺得摄影大师奖时,Giorgio 读了好几遍通知函才确信这个消息。“对我来说,这既是终点也是起点。”他说,“终点是因为感觉自己付出的所有努力受到了认可,

起点则是因为我有更高的要求,想要获得参与更多国际项目的机会。职业生涯刚刚起步之时,能得到 Hasselblad 给予的这份荣誉,对我而言无疑是巨大的助推力。它让我有机会更加接近自己的目标。”

 

www.giorgiocravero.com

Facebook: Studio Blu 2.0

Instagram: @giorgiocravero

 

如需查看 2016 年 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖所有获奖作品,请点击此处

这十名获奖者将被邀请使用 Hasselblad 中画幅相机为最新一期的《Hasselblad 摄影大师图册》(Hasselblad Masters Book) 拍摄一组以“启发”为主题的全新特色照片(恰逢 Hasselblad 75 周年)。我们将在今年 9 月于科隆举办的 2016 年世界影像博览会的特别典礼上为获奖者颁发奖杯和 Hasselblad 相机。

 

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016: Product Category Winner Giorgio Cravero

2016-02-12 ‘The thought of spending my life in an office analysing numbers was too scary’

A steady career in finance appeared to be beckoning for Giorgio Cravero when he left school and headed for university to study economics.

hasselblad_masters_2016_product_giorgiocraveroWinning entry in the Product category photographed by Hasselblad Master Giorgio Cravero 

But after two years the realisation dawned that number crunching wasn’t really what he was cut out to do. “The thought of spending the rest of my life in an office analysing data was too scary. I’ve always been a curious person fascinated by visual imagery, and I’d been taking photographs for myself for a few years by this point. Now I knew that I enjoyed this too much for it to remain just a pastime, and I decided to make it my life.”

Giorgio moved sideways and signed up for a three-year course at the European Institute of Design, supporting himself through his studies by working as a photographic assistant for some of his school professors.

He graduated with top marks in Visual Communication opened his own studio in Turin, specialising in architecture and still life.

“As with all perfectionists, I’ve always felt the need to have total control over what I do,” he says, “and studio still life attracted me because I was able to totally control the light. I’m not a ‘fast’ photographer: I need to think, to try out lighting and composition until I’m completely satisfied. I’m always researching new ideas and starting fresh personal projects to improve my portfolio.

“The banana picture that won me the Hasselblad Masters Award was part of a project I started that studied the relationship between food, man and nature. We hung fruit and vegetables and then partially dipped them into a pot of Tempera Paint, pulled them out and waited for the best ‘drip’ moment. Once I’d chosen the best picture the studio’s post-production supervisor Ivan Nikodimovich worked on them, de-saturating, cleaning and adjusting the colour parameters in order to even it out between the tempera and the objects.”

When he heard that the shot had won him the Masters prize Giorgio had to read his letter several times before it all sank in. “To me, this is both an arrival and a departure point,” he notes. “An arrival because it feels like all the hard work I put into it has been recognised. “It’s also a departure point because I’m ambitious and would love to have the opportunities to take on more international jobs. I think of myself at the beginning of my path, and this prize from Hasselblad is a big help to me. It gives me the chance to get closer to my aims.”

 

www.giorgiocravero.com

Facebook: Studio Blu 2.0

Instagram: @giorgiocravero

 

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

The ten winners will be tasked to create a new and unique set of images, using a Hasselblad Medium Format camera, embracing the theme ‘Inspire’ (coinciding with Hasselblad’s 75th anniversary) for the latest edition of the Hasselblad Masters Book. The Winners will receive their trophy and their own Hasselblad camera to keep at a special photokina 2016 ceremony in Cologne this September.

 

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer