搜索并排序

Hasselblad 摄影大师奖:建筑类获奖者 Swee Oh

2016-02-01 “我拍到大桥正向它的欣赏者展现曼妙的舞姿。”

成为 Hasselblad 摄影大师奖竞赛的获奖者对于 Swee Oh 来说是非同一般的成就,这位建筑师从 2011 年起才真正走上摄影之路,她想以此来记录她的项目。

hasselblad_masters_2016_swee_oh_architectureWinning entry in the Architecture category photographed by Hasselblad Master Swee Oh

“我出生在槟城,”她说,“迁到美国之前,我在马来西亚学习建筑。我获得了亚利桑那州立大学的建筑硕士学位,2002 年我搬到旧金山,从事医疗保健领域的设计工作。

“我使用一款轻便傻瓜相机来拍摄记录自己的工作照片,直到看到一位摄影师朋友创作的摄影作品的质量,我才意识到自己拍的照片多么的平淡乏味。他接着给我展示了 Flickr 上的一些优秀的图片,并教我基础的后期处理技巧,从那时开始我便迷上了摄影。我的热情被完全激发出来,从此一发不可收拾。”

在过去的五年间,Swee 无论去哪里都会带上相机,一有机会便会举起相机进行拍摄,以此打磨自己的摄影技巧。她参加讲习班,观看摄影教程,同时也是在线摄影社区的活跃分子。“终于,”她说道,“我学会以自己的风格拍摄照片,而我的建筑与艺术背景也影响了我从美术和商业建筑摄影角度阐释建筑的方式。”

当 Swee 第一次见到马来西亚的宏愿大桥时,这座令人联想到航帆的斜拉桥让她叹为观止,其形态随着观赏角度而变化万千,对此她痴迷不已。“我想通过这张获奖作品,强调吊索向主柱的流动感,展示大桥优雅精致的设计。”她说道,“对我而言,大桥正向它的欣赏者展现曼妙的舞姿。”

Swee 目前使用一款配备移轴镜头的高端 CSC 拍摄作品,她希望有一天能升级到中画幅相机,而她的这一梦即将成为现实,2016 年摄影大师奖的每一位获奖者都将获得一台全新的 Hasselblad 相机。“我期望获得摄影细节和动态范围的全面提升,以及全画幅相机无法给予的神奇效果。”她说道,“有了 Hasselblad 相机,我将能更好地施展拳脚,进一步探索自己的摄影理念,一想到即将学习这一新的摄影平台我就特别激动。”

sweeoh.smugmug.com

Facebook: Swee Oh

Instagram: @sweeoh88

这十名获奖者将被邀请使用 Hasselblad 中画幅相机为最新一期的《Hasselblad 摄影大师图册》(Hasselblad Masters Book) 拍摄一组以“启发”为主题的全新特色照片(恰逢 Hasselblad 75 周年)。我们将在今年 9 月于科隆举办的 2016 年世界影像博览会的特别典礼上为获奖者颁发奖杯和 Hasselblad 相机。

 Hasselblad Masters 2016

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Search and sort

Hasselblad Masters Awards 2016: Architecture Category Winner Swee Oh

2016-02-01 ‘I caught the bridge dancing and swaying gracefully for the viewer’

Being named winner of the Architecture category of the Hasselblad Masters competition marks an extraordinary triumph for Swee Oh, an architect who only started to take her photography seriously from 2011 onwards as a way of documenting her projects.

hasselblad_masters_2016_swee_oh_architectureWinning entry in the Architecture category photographed by Hasselblad Master Swee Oh

“I was born in Penang, and studied architecture in Malaysia before moving to the US. I received a Masters in Architecture from Arizona State University and in 2002 moved to San Francisco to work as a designer, specialising in the field of healthcare.

“I was recording pictures of my work using a point and shoot and compact, and it wasn’t until I saw the quality of the pictures that a photographer friend was producing that I realised just how unappealing and flat my own shots were. He went on to show me some amazing images on Flickr and taught me the basics of post processing, and from that point on I was hooked. I’d found my passion and there was no turning back.”

For the past five years Swee has honed her skills by simply heading out with a camera and shooting pictures at every opportunity. She’s attended workshops, watched tutorials and has become an active member of the online photographic community. “Ultimately,” she says, “I learned to create images in my own style, while my background in architecture and art has influenced the way I interpret a building, for both fine art and commercial architecture photography.”

When Swee first encountered the Seri Wawasan Bridge in Malaysia she was struck by how the cable-stayed bridge resembled a ship’s sail, and fascinated by how it presented such a variety of forms when viewed from different angles. “My vision for the winning picture was to show how delicate and elegant the design of the bridge is by emphasising the flow of cables towards the main post,” she says. “To me it’s as though the bridge is dancing and swaying gracefully for the viewer.”

Currently shooting with a high end CSC with a tilt-shift lens, Swee’s dreams of one day of moving up to medium format, are about to come true – as each Masters Awards 2016 winner also collects a new Hasselblad camera. “I dream of all that increase in detail and dynamic range and the magic you just don’t get with a full frame camera,” she says. “The chance to work with a Hasselblad opens up a lot of opportunities to further explore my photographic ideas, and I’m excited by the thought of learning the new platform.”

sweeoh.smugmug.com

Facebook: Swee Oh

Instagram: @sweeoh88

See all the winning entries in Hasselblad Masters 2016 here

The ten winners will be tasked to create a new and unique set of images, using a Hasselblad Medium Format camera, embracing the theme ‘Inspire’ (coinciding with Hasselblad’s 75th anniversary) for the latest edition of the Hasselblad Masters Book. The Winners will receive their trophy and their own Hasselblad camera to keep at a special photokina 2016 ceremony in Cologne this September.

Camera model
Exposure time
Aperture
ISO
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket
Photographer