遗产和历史

哈苏 在太空

footprint

我的一小步,人类的一大步

人类历史上几乎没有哪项成就能与我们的太空探索相比。很少有照片可以像这些太空照片一样广为流传并得到广泛认可。这些照片改变了我们看待世界和我们自己的方式。它们都是使用 哈苏 相机进行拍摄。

四十多年的太空摄影为我们提供了一个全新的世界观,这一点不可否认。虽然这些照片并没有改变基本的科学定律,开普勒、牛顿和爱因斯坦的学说也没有受到这些照片的影响,但是这些太空照片为我们了解地球周围的小范围银河系增加了全新的维度。它们改变了我们对宇宙以及我们与宇宙之间关系的看法。让我们懂得了什么是渺小、什么是浩瀚,让我们变得更加团结。

这些照片让普通人瞬间理解了之前只有少数专家才明白的复杂宇宙关系。并且无需人们具备任何知识基础,让全世界数百万不识字的人们也生动地认识了宇宙。

这些美丽的图片形象生动,能够瞬间抓住人的心灵。例如,当我们欣赏地球的照片时,感觉地球犹如镶嵌在黑色宇宙中的一颗蓝绿色宝石。它的大气层是那么稀薄,看着这个我们居住的星球,它的脆弱渺小让我们震撼不已。

这张照片不需要您具有任何气象学或物理学方面的专业知识。也不需要您了解什么艰深的生态系统或生态化趋势。它可以让我们直观地感受到:我们的星球是如此脆弱,如此需要我们的保护。

而 50 年来拍摄的太空照片给科学家和专家们带来的独特价值也是不言而喻,让他们更加深入广泛地了解了地球周围的天体。此同时也增进了我们对于地球的了解。例如,卫星照片的出现让我们能够以一种截然不同的方式描绘地球的资源、环境变化和气候系统,而在之前这是不可能的。

现在让我们回到地球,回到瑞典的西海岸,维克多哈苏 正是在这里开发出了世界著名的 哈苏 相机,我们在这里可以欣赏到类似于照片的图像艺术。在瑞典群岛饱经岁月沧桑的岩石上,展示着一件件古代的艺术家们的精美艺术作品。像欧洲早期的洞穴壁画和我们现在的太空照片一样,这些岩画也在传达着某种信息。传达思想、感受和信息同样是它们的创作初衷。

就这方面而言,古代和现代并不存在太大差别。我们要做的是正确解读这些图像,把握它们传达的信息。

历史渊源

四十多年前,还未出名的 Walter Schirra 到休斯顿的一家摄影用品商店购买了一部 哈苏 500C。这款相机是一款标准的消费摄影器材,使用的是 Planar f/2.8, 80 mm 镜头。Schirra 后来成为了 NASA 宇航员,是当时最优秀的飞行员之一,拥有“出色的飞行员素质”。Schirra 打算带着他新购买的相机共赴太空,为此他除去了 哈苏 机身上的人造革并将相机的金属表面涂成黑色,这样可最大程度减少反光。1962 年 10 月,他带着他的 哈苏 相机登上了 Mercury 火箭。一进入太空,他就用相机拍摄了展现在自己眼前的壮观景象。他用手中的消费型 哈苏 相机拍下了首张太空照片。从此 哈苏 及其摄影器材的历史进入了崭新的一页,无论是美国航空航天局这样的大型机构还是瑞典的小型相机制造商都与 哈苏 建立了长期、紧密、互利共赢的合作关系。

earth

特别有意思的一点是,被宇航员 Walter Schirra 带入太空的首部 哈苏 相机是太空舱中唯一一个不是为任务专门定制的产品。唯一的改造就是除去了相机机身的人造革。这款配有标准镜头和胶卷盒的相机进入了一个完全不同的环境中,拍摄到了人们从未见到过的壮观景象。返回地球后,维克多 哈苏 表示这款相机的技术性能正如自己期待的那样,堪称完美。此前 NASA 从未意识到过太空摄影的重要性,也从未给予过足够的重视。但在看到 Schirra 带回地球的高品质照片后,他们充分认识到了这些照片对于整个项目的重要意义。

NASA 的摄影部门开始迅速发展壮大,汇聚了包括摄影师、实验技术人员和美国一流摄影翻译家在内的众多专业人才。并且与众多出于各种原因对太空照片感兴趣的机构建立了联系。同时 NASA 与 哈苏 这家瑞典相机制造商的合作也逐渐增多。为此,哈苏 试验了各种不同的结构和镜头,对相机进行了改造和优化,使其能够更好地用于太空拍摄。例如,NASA 在很多年前就决定消除一切不必要的重量来减少负荷,这意味着 哈苏 要想被带入太空就必须尽可能地采用轻便的设计。但同时还必须保证 哈苏 的出色性能。哈苏 成功做到了这两点。

多种不同型号的相机被带入太空执行了摄影任务,所有这些相机都经受住了严峻考验。宇航员用黑色的 哈苏 箱式相机拍摄的照片已成为了真正的经典之作。他们捕捉的不仅仅是激动人心的瞬间,更是历史的定格。例如,在 1965 年的 Gemini IV(双子座 4 号)任务中,人类首次进行了太空漫步。James A. McDivitt 手持 哈苏 相机为同伴 Edward H. White 拍摄了一系列太空漫步的照片,这些照片很快便出现在了世界各大知名杂志中。

man-on-the-moon

哈苏 相机所拍照片的出色清晰度让人们惊叹不已。普通人会赞叹照片的出色画质,但可能不会想到太空拍摄对相机性能和可靠性的严格要求。相机必须在最恶劣的环境下保持良好的工作状态,需要承受阳面 120° C 高温和阴面零下 65° C 低温的巨大考验。此外还有失重环境和各种未知风险。在这些情况下相机必须始终保持良好的运行状态。每次拍摄都将成为宝贵的历史财富,这种一生只有一次的珍贵机会一旦错过将遗憾终生。而 哈苏 各种不同型号的相机一次又一次地经受住了历史的考验。

1966 年,配备 Zeiss Biogon 38mm ƒ/4.5 镜头的 哈苏 SWC 相机首次在 Gemini 9(双子座 9 号)上使用。1969 年 1 月 1 日,哈苏 500EL 随 Apollo VIII(阿波罗 8 号)首次进入太空,并环绕月球飞行 10 周。此外, 哈苏 相机还和宇航员一起乘坐 Apollo XI(阿波罗 11 号)首次登上了月球,代表着人类第一次踏上地球之外的其他星球,实现了人类长久以来的登月梦想。  此次登月任务选用的是配备网格板和 Zeiss Biogon 60mm ƒ/5.6 镜头的 哈苏 500EL Data Camera。从月球返航时,对带回的物品重量有着非常特殊的要求,而十三台相机被认为会造成飞行负担,鉴于它们已完成了使命,宇航员并未将其带回。而是仅带回了保存着珍贵潜像的胶卷盒。此次任务所拍摄的静态照片的影响力甚至超过了电影。宇航员们在此次太空探索任务中拍摄了无数经典照片:太空黑色的背景下人类孤单的身影、从月球上看到地球缓缓升起、人类在月球表面踩出的第一个激动人心的孤独脚印… 当时的任何一种形式可能都无法像这些照片一样生动地捕捉到人类历史的“脚步”。

这些照片是对我们摄影能力的证明。也是对 哈苏 相机拍摄性能的证明。

不断创新

spacewalk

自从人类首次执行太空探索任务以来,哈苏 就一直参与 NASA 的载人航天任务,见证了航天飞机、航天计划和宇航员的多次变化。到了 20 世纪 80 年代,航天飞机计划让太空旅行成为了稀松平常的事情。航天飞机上的环境不再像以前那么恶劣,因此对宇航员的身体要求也有所降低,使得平常人也能加入到太空探索的行列中来。虽然航天飞机和宇航员都已更新换代,但 哈苏 却依然在帮助宇航员们通过影像来记录人类经历的每一个历史瞬间。尽管太空探索的环境在某些方面变得更加“友好”,但人们对太空摄像机的要求却变得更加严格。

在人类的太空探索中,哈苏 相机一次又一次地经受住了考验,每次航天任务平均可以拍摄 1,500 到 2,000 张照片。就像宇航员在阿波罗探月任务中在月球表面工作的震撼照片定义了当时的航空时代一样,八十年代宇航员们在航天飞机中工作的精美照片记录了人类对宇宙进一步地不懈探索,以及我们对未来的宇宙探索所做的准备工作。

人类冲破了各种障碍,但宇宙旅行对于人体体能仍然存在限制。人类首次探索太空时对人员和设备的要求最为严格。有机会探索宇宙的人可谓凤毛麟角。John Glenn 便是其中之一,这名出类拔萃的年轻人被作家 Tom Wolfe 誉为“最理想的宇航员”。Glenn 于 1962 年 2 月搭乘 Friendship 7 航天飞机进行了他的首次太空之旅,并在从 NASA 退役后投身政界,成为了一名德高望重的美国参议员。

start460

1998 年,七十七岁的 John Glenn 再次尝试挑战人类极限。他和其他六位宇航员从弗洛里达州的卡纳维拉尔角搭乘发现号航天飞机再次踏上太空探索之旅。36 年前,Glenn 完成了自己的首次太空探索壮举,如今他重返太空不仅让他成为了美国的英雄,同时也让他成为了年龄最大的太空旅行者。

在位于地球上空 345 英里的“发现号”航天飞机上进行了 83 项实验,并且与 1962 年 10 月以来美国的所有载人航天任务一样,宇航员们使用 哈苏 相机进行拍摄。最重要的是,航天飞机携带了五台 哈苏 553ELS 相机,大约五十个 哈苏 70mm 胶卷盒,各种 Carl Zeiss 镜头 (50-250mm) 以及一系列 RM2 反射型取景器,这些器材都针对太空拍摄进行了特殊设计。自然,用于太空摄影的相机在某些方面与地球上使用的相机存在差别。这些差别包括:去除了 TTL 闪光灯功能,用低摩擦材料取代了在真空中易于挥发的常规润滑油,另外还用金属板取代了相机表面的人造革材料。

但是,相机产品同时在朝这两个方向进化。每次航天任务中 哈苏 与 NASA 的合作都能为我们带来巨大收获,553ELS 就是一个很好的例子。553ELS 是 553ELX 的太空版本,多年以来消费者一直可以通过正常的零售渠道购买 553ELX。这款相机采用了 ELS 太空相机的多项重要功能和改进,如经过改进的反光镜装置,提升了装置的耐用性和反射操作的稳定性。

探索未知

四十多年来,哈苏 一直为 NASA 的航天计划提供摄影器材。对于过去一直面向普通的非航天摄影师的相机而言,这的确是个不小的成就。

shuttle

NASA 当初为宇航员制定的标准如今已成为无法逾越的标杆。能够满足这些标准的人理所当然地成为了他们时代的传奇。而他们使用的相机也是如此。NASA 和它的宇航员们所需要的是一台不折不扣的顶级相机,一台在最极端的环境下也能正常工作的相机,一台能够准确呈现所拍摄图像的壮观和重要性的相机。显然他们最终找到了这样的相机。

NASA 与 哈苏 的长期合作说明了一个事实。如果 哈苏 的相机不具备“理想的品质”,就不可能一次又一次地参与航天任务。如今我们迈入了新的世纪,过去的成就已成为历史。我们可以看到,那些流传最广的照片并不是来自地球,而是来自于太空。这些照片都是使用 哈苏 相机进行拍摄。我们从太空拍摄的地球照片曾无数次地被用于各种介绍地球环境、宣传公司的国际化运营或提倡全球视角的文章中。这些照片已成为我们的常用词汇。让我们能够轻松理解以前的人们几乎无法想象的难题。

人类对太空的探索仍在继续。2001 年 10 月 11 日,NASA 向太空发射了“发现号”航天飞机。这次航天任务的主要目标是将模块运送到永久性空间站,从而为进一步探索太阳系更遥远的星球打下基础。与以往一样,宇航员仍然使用 哈苏 相机作为拍摄工具。

此次任务还使用了一款新型的 哈苏 太空相机。这款新型相机是基于 203FE 标准版相机设计的焦平面快门相机,配备了经过特殊设计的 Winder CW。胶卷盒使用 70mm 有孔胶片,并在胶片帧的边缘设有数据打印装置,能够记录每次曝光的时间和照片编号。由于航天飞机的位置完全由舱内的计算机控制,因此可以很轻松地确定照片的拍摄位置。

当然,为应对航天飞机外的真空环境,满足拍摄对于材料、润滑和稳定性的要求,我们对相机进行了改装。此外,为满足 NASA 对于操作和功能的独特要求,相机的电子元件也做了调整。为适应太空环境,我们对镜头也进行了改装。并且我们还为焦环和光圈环安装了更大的拨杆,以便于宇航员们在佩戴大型手套的零重力条件下调节相机。

回顾历史,我们可以很容易地发现对普通相机做的“太空改装”所带来的益处。

如今,人类再次将视线投向更加遥远的太空,关于火星载人飞行的讨论不绝于耳,而 哈苏 必将再次一同前往,捕捉到人类上的又一个里程碑,并让全世界的人们都能目睹这一历史时刻。记住历史的同时,我们积极探索未来。

假如有一天,太空旅行真的成为家常便饭,那么前往月球的第一批游客或许会有新奇的发现。他们可能会看到当初宇航员们丢弃的一台或数台相机。当时宇航员们返回地球时只带走了有价值的胶卷盒,而将相机留在了月球上。也许这些银河游客们会使用这些第一次让我们看到地球的相机再次拍摄下我们美丽的家园。谁知道呢?未来什么事情都可能发生。

让我们拭目以待吧!

太空相机

从我们 1962 年 10 月 3 日首次探索太空开始,哈苏 相机就一直是太空计划中不可或缺的“成员”,它拍摄的照片帮助我们更好地认识了我们的地球和地球周围的世界。为满足太空飞行的严格要求,需要对相机进行一系列特殊的调整和改进。反过来,我们又将太空拍摄中获得的知识和技术应用到普通的消费型相机中,进一步改进了 哈苏 的生产线。所有这些都是为确保我们能够始终为客户提供最佳的拍摄器材 – 无论是在地球上还是在遥远的太空。


 

500c-1

哈苏 500c

哈苏 500C 采用经过改装的 Planar 80mm 镜头,是第一款被 NASA 用于太空拍摄的 Hasselblad 相机。宇航员 Walter M. Schirra 在德克萨斯州休斯顿的一个相机商店购买了这款相机。

NASA 对相机进行了改装,包括拆除内衬、反光镜、对焦屏和遮光罩以及其他改装,从而让相机变得更轻。


Hasselblad SWC

哈苏 SWC

采用 Biogon 38mm 镜头,1966 年 6 月 3 日随 Gemini 9(双子座 9 号)首次进入太空。相机的标准配置基本没有改变:仅除去了内衬并对取景器进行了特殊设计。该相机在 1966 年曾四次用于太空拍摄。


ec500el-1哈苏 EC (Electric Camera) 500 EL

该相机被用于 1968 年 12 月 21 日至 27 日的近月载人太空飞行。此次飞行共绕月 10 周,目的是考察未来登月的着陆地点。HEC 配备的是 70 mm 胶卷盒。


edc-1

哈苏 EDC (电子数据相机)

这款相机在 500EL 机械相机的基础上针对月球表面的环境进行了特殊设计,Neil Armstrong 在 1969 年 7 月 20 日使用这台相机拍摄了第一张月球照片。相机使用的是经过特殊设计的 Biogon 镜头,焦距为 60 mm,并在镜头上安装了偏振滤镜。玻璃板(网格板)与胶片接触,上面的参考线会在曝光过程中会记录在胶片上,1969 至 1972 年间在月球上拍摄的所有照片都能看到这些交叉线。这 13 台用于月球表面拍摄的 HEDC 相机后来被留在了月球。仅有胶卷盒被带回地球。


500elm-1

哈苏 500EL/M

这是第一款 Hasselblad SLR 太空相机,使用的是 HC3-70 棱镜取景器。1975 年 7 月的 Apollo-Soyuz 飞行首次使用了此款相机。


els-1

哈苏 ELS (太空版)

ELS 是 553 ELX 的改装版,除去了测光系统,并用金属薄板代替了人造革。这款相机被用于 20 世纪 90 年代早期的航天飞机任务中。胶卷盒使用 70 mm 有孔胶片,并配备了电子数据打印装置,能够记录每次曝光的时间和照片编号。


203s-2哈苏 203S

这款相机是基于 203FE 标准版相机设计的焦平面快门相机,配备了经过特殊设计的 Winder CW。胶卷盒使用 70 mm 有孔胶片,并配备了电子数据打印装置,能够记录每次曝光的时间和照片编号。由于航天飞机的位置完全由舱内的计算机控制,因此可以轻松准确地确定照片的拍摄位置。

相机型号
曝光时间
光圈
ISO
曝光模式
自动曝光 手动曝光 Auto bracket
摄影师

Our Story

Hasselblad in Space


Small steps. Giant leaps.

There are few achievements in the history of man that rival our explorations into space. And few images as unifying, moving, and widely recognized as those photographs taken during these journeys. Photos that have changed the way we see our world and ourselves. Photos taken with Hasselblad cameras.

Few would deny that the now over four decades of space photography have given us a new worldview. No, the basic laws of science have not changed as a result of these images; no, the ideas of Kepler, Newton, and Einstein have not been eclipsed by photos from beyond our planet. However these pictures from space have added new dimensions to our understanding of this, our own small section of the Milky Way. They have changed the way we view the universe and our part in it. They have made us feel small, made us feel large, and made us feel bound to one another as humans.

These photographs have enabled the average person to understand, in the blink of an eye, relationships which were previously the reserve of a tiny minority of experts. These images demand no previous knowledge, they don’t disqualify all the millions of people in the world who cannot read, they are equally accessible to any and all who can see.

The beauty of these photos works intuitively and almost instantly. We see a picture of Earth, for instance, poised like a blue-green jewel against the black of space, we see its surprisingly thin layer of atmosphere, we look upon the whole of our planet and are struck by how delicate and small it appears.

This picture demands no specialist skills in meteorology or physics. It requires no deeper knowledge of ecological systems and trends. Intuitively, we understand that our planet’s system is a fragile one, something to be protected.

It goes without saying that the 50 years of photographs brought back from space have also given scientists and specialists a wealth of unique opportunities to deepen and extend their knowledge of our most immediate celestial neighbours. But our knowledge of our own planet has increased even more. Today, for example, we almost take it for granted that the Earth’s resources, environmental changes, and weather systems can be mapped in a completely different way than was possible before the debut of satellite pictures.

Back on Earth, back on the west coast of Sweden where Victor Hasselblad developed his famous camera, one can find a poetic parallel; there on the weathered stone of the Swedish archipelago we find pictures from another age in the ascent of man. These rock-carvings, like the cave paintings in Europe before them and like the space images of our own time also carried a message. They were also designed to convey thoughts, feelings, and information.

Not a lot has changed in that regard. It is up to us to interpret the images correctly, to take from them what they offer.

In the beginning

Over forty years ago, a still unknown Walter Schirra entered a Houston photo supply shop and purchased a Hasselblad 500C. The camera was a standard consumer unit with a Planar f/2.8, 80 mm lens. Schirra was a prospective NASA astronaut, one of the brightest and finest pilots of his time, a man with the “right stuff”. Thinking to take his new purchase up on a space shot with him, Schirra stripped the leatherette from the body of the Hasselblad and painted its metal surface black in order to minimise reflections. And when he climbed aboard a Mercury rocket in October 1962, he took his Hasselblad with him. Once in Space, he documented the wonder and awe inspiring beauty he saw around. He took the first space photographs using his consumer model Hasselblad. Thus began the first page in a new chapter in the history of Hasselblad and photography and a long, close, and mutually beneficial cooperation between the giant American space agency and the small Swedish camera manufacturer.

earthIt is interesting to note that when astronaut Walter Schirra brought that first Hasselblad camera into space, it was the only product in the space capsule that had not been custom-built for the mission. The only changes made were that the camera body was stripped down. That camera, sent into space, into a completely alien environment, to take pictures of sights that no human eye had seen before, was sent with the standard lens and film magazine. On returning to earth, it was found that the technical performance of the camera equipment had been just as Victor Hasselblad expected – flawless. NASA had not previously realised or emphasised the importance of photographic documentation of its space shots. After seeing the quality of the photographs that Schirra brought back to earth, however, it was clearly apparent how vital such images were to the project as a whole.

NASA’s photo department grew rapidly and became a focal point for a string of experts including photo technicians, laboratory technicians, and America’s foremost photo interpreters. Liaisons were also established between a wide range of diverse institutions that were interested in pictures from space for a variety of reasons. NASA’s contact with the Swedish camera manufacturer broadened. In turn, Hasselblad modified and refined its cameras to make them even more suitable for space use, experimenting with different constructions and lenses. For many years, for instance, NASA was determined to cut every superfluous gram from the payload, meaning that the Hasselblads onboard were forced to be as lightweight and lean as absolutely possible. And still maintain the famous Hasselblad quality. And this they did.

A number of different camera models were put to use, all suited for the rigorous demands of space travel. The images that the astronauts took with the boxy, black Hasselblads have become true classics. And the moments they captured were not just inspiring, they were historic. During the Gemini IV mission in 1965, for example, the first space walk was made. And with Hasselblad in hand, James A. McDivitt took a series of pictures of his space-walking colleague, Edward H. White. These pictures were quickly published in leading magazines around the world.


People were surprised over the amazing sharpness of the photos produced by the Hasselblads. And while the layperson might have been impressed by the quality of the final images – and justifiably so – they did not perhaps give too much thought to the demands that space travel made upon the cameras and their reliability. The cameras had to work perfectly under the most trying conditions, over 120° C in the sun, and minus 65° C in the shade. Not to mention the lack of gravity and a myriad of unknown hazards. And the cameras had to work with absolute consistency. Each and every shot was a historic treasure, a once in a lifetime opportunity that would never be able to be captured again. And time and time again, Hasselblad met the challenge. With a range of different cameras.

In 1966, a Hasselblad SWC with a Zeiss Biogon 38mm ƒ/4.5 lens was used for the first time on Gemini 9. The Hasselblad 500EL had its space debut aboard Apollo VIII, which made l0 orbits around the Moon on June 1, 1969. And when the Apollo XI actually landed on the Moon, signifying man’s first steps off our own planet and the realisation of a dream almost as old as man himself, Hasselblad was there.  A Hasselblad 500EL Data Camera with Reseau plate, fitted with a Zeiss Biogon 60mm ƒ/5.6 lens, was chosen for the job. The journeys home from the moon made very special demands on what could return regarding weight, etc. So, having fulfilled their mission, a total of thirteen cameras were deemed as an encumbrance and therefore left behind. Only the film magazines containing the precious latent images were brought back. The still shots from that mission are even more widely known than the film sequences. Truly, the list of classic images that came from these missions is almost endless; a single man hovering in the blackness of space, the earth-rise as seen from the moon, the solitary, dramatic shape of man’s first steps on the lunar surface… These images, perhaps more than any of our time, captured the history of mankind in the making.

They stand as a testament to the power of the captured image. And to Hasselblad’s ability to capture them.

Pushing the envelope

spacewalkSince those first missions into space, Hasselblad has been on every manned NASA space flight mission, and has seen many changes; to the spacecraft, space programs, and crew. During the 1980’s, the space shuttle program almost made trips into outer space a mundane occurrence. The less rigorous conditions on the shuttles placed less physical demands on the crew, allowing lay people to join the ranks of humans in space. The spacecraft and astronauts may have been new, but Hasselblad was still there, snapping away, capturing the history of our species as it happened. And while the conditions had become more “user-friendly” in certain ways, the demands on space cameras became, if anything, even more rigorous.

And on journey after journey, Hasselblad cameras met the demands, taking on average between 1,500 and 2,000 photographs on each shuttle mission. And just as the remarkable pictures of man at work on the surface of the moon during the Apollo missions defined its era, a succession of fine pictures of astronauts at work in and around the reusable spacecraft of the eighties defined man’s continued exploration of the universe around us. And our preparations for even further journeys.

And all the barriers broken were not physical. When man first entered the space race, the demands on the individuals and equipment were unsurpassed. A special few were chosen to brave the unknowns of space. One of the shining young men chosen, the best of the best, who had what author Tom Wolfe termed “the right stuff” was astronaut John Glenn. Glenn made his first space trip in February 1962 onboard Friendship 7 and later went on to enter politics after his NASA career and eventually became a respected United States Senator.

start460Then, in 1998 the seventy-seven year old John Glenn once again crossed the final frontier. He and six fellow astronauts soared into space aboard the shuttle Discovery from Florida’s Cape Canaveral. Glenn’s return to space 36 years after his first heroic mission makes him not just a true American hero, but also the oldest person who has ever gone into space.

While on the shuttle Discovery, 345 miles above the Earth, 83 experiments were performed and, as on all manned American space missions since October, 1962, the crew used Hasselblad camera equipment for the photographic documentation. All in all, the space shuttle carried five Hasselblad 553ELS cameras, around fifty Hasselblad 70mm magazines, a variety of Carl Zeiss lenses (50-250mm), and a range of RM2 reflex viewfinders, which were originally developed specifically for space use. Some differences naturally existed between the cameras sent into space and the ones intended for use on earth. These differences included the removal of the TTL flash function, and the replacement of conventional lubricants, which would evaporate in a vacuum, with low friction materials. The leatherette covering was also removed and replaced by metal plates.

The evolution of the cameras works in both directions, however. The 553ELS, for instance, is a perfect example of the ongoing benefit that the Hasselblad/NASA collaboration brought back to earth from every mission. The 553ELS was the space version of the 553ELX model, which had been available to consumers through normal retail channels for years. This camera adopted several key features and improvements originating from the ELS space camera, such as the improved mirror mechanism, which increased the durability and reliability of the reflex operation.

Into the great unknown

For over four decades now, Hasselblad has supplied camera equipment to the NASA space program. That’s no small achievement for a camera that was built to satisfy photographers who have both feet firmly on the ground.

shuttleThe demands that were originally made by NASA upon its astronauts are now part of modern mythology. The men who met these demands became legends in their own time. The same can perhaps be said for the cameras these men took with them. NASA and its astronauts wanted a camera of the absolute highest quality, a camera that would work under the most extreme conditions imaginable, a camera that would be able to do justice to the majesty and importance of the images to be captured. Clearly they got what they were looking for.

The long collaboration between NASA and Hasselblad is witness to that fact. If Hasselblad’s cameras had not shown “the right stuff”, their presence in space would not have been so long-lived. And now, with the past century and its achievements behind us, we see that some of the most published pictures of our times were taken not on earth, but somewhere in space. Taken with a Hasselblad camera. It is impossible to count how many times pictures of our planet taken from space have been used to illustrate articles on the conditions upon Mother Earth, to advertise a company’s international operations, or suggest a global perspective. These images have become part of our common vocabulary. They have enabled us to easily understand the reality of things that were almost undreamt of a few generations earlier.

And the journey continues. On the 11th of October, 2001, NASA sent the space shuttle Discovery into space. The main aim of the space mission was to transport modules to the permanent ‘space station’, which will be the base for other journeys to more distant parts of the solar system. As usual, the astronauts used Hasselblad camera equipment for the photographic documentation.

This mission also introduced a new Hasselblad space camera. This new camera was a focal-plane shutter camera based on the standard 203FE version. It was equipped with a special version of the Winder CW. The film magazines used 70mm perforated film and were equipped with data imprinting along the edge of the film frame, enabling the recording of time and picture number for each exposure. Since the computers onboard had full control over the position of the shuttle it was fairly easy to identify exactly which spot on the earth the picture was taken over.

Naturally, some of the cameras had been modified to cope with the vacuum conditions outside the spacecraft and there were also special requirements regarding material, lubricants, and reliability. In addition, the electronics of the camera had been modified to meet NASA’s special demands for handling and function. The lenses had also been reconstructed for space and the focusing and aperture rings were equipped with large tabs to facilitate handling in the zero gravity, large gloved reality that awaits space travellers.

And, if history serves as our teacher, it won’t be long until we see the benefit of these “space modifications” on cameras here on earth.

And now, as Man once again turns his sights into the far reaches of  the universe, as we hear more and more talk of manned missions to Mars, we almost take it for granted that Hasselblad will be there, capturing yet another monumental step for mankind and making it available to all of us below. Preserving history and exploring the future.

And when the time comes, when space travel truly does become common place, perhaps the first tourists to the moon will make a curious discovery. Perhaps they will find one of the dozen or so cameras that were left behind. The astronauts returning with only the valuable film magazines and the cameras´ weight in moon dust. And perhaps these galactic tourists will then turn their own eyes down to the emerald planet, snapping yet another image of our common home with one of the cameras that first brought us the vision to begin with. Who knows? The future, as they say, is a very large place.

Stay tuned.

Space Cameras

From our first space journey on Oct. 3,1962, Hasselblad cameras have played an integral part in the Space program, capturing the images that help us to understand our world and its surroundings. There are a range of special modifications and improvements required to meet the stringent demands of space travel. We then apply the knowledge and expertise we gain in space and bring it back to earth, further improving the Hasselblad line. All to ensure that we continue to provide the finest photographic equipment on – or off – the planet.



Hasselblad 500c

The Hasselblad 500C, with a planar 80mm lens (modified), was the first Hasselblad camera to be used by NASA in space. It was purchased by the astronaut Walter M. Schirra from a camera shop in Houston, Texas.

Modification, carried out by NASA, involved removing the lining, mirror, focusing screen and hood, among other things, to make the camera lighter.

Hasselblad SWC

Hasselblad SWC

With a Biogon 38mm lens, made its space debut on 3 June 1966, on a voyage in Gemini 9. The camera was largely standard: Only the lining had been removed and the viewfinder was specially designed. The camera was used on four voyages in 1966.

ec500el-1 Hasselblad EC (Electric Camera) 500 EL

This camera was taken on the manned voyage which passed close to the moon on 21-27 December 1968. During this voyage 10 revolutions were made around the moon, the purpose being to survey possible future landing sites. The HEC was fitted with a magazine for 70 mm film.


Hasselblad EDC (Electric Data Camera)

This is a specially designed version of the motorised 500EL intended for use on the surface of the moon, where the first lunar pictures were taken on 20 July 1969 by Neil Armstrong. The camera is equipped with a specially designed Biogon lens with a focal length of 60 mm, with a polarisation filter mounted on the lens. A glass plate (Reseau-Plate), provided with reference crosses which are recorded on the film during exposure, is in contact with the film, and these crosses can be seen on all the pictures taken on the moon from 1969 to 1972. The 13 HEDC cameras used on the surface of the moon were left there. Only the film magazines were brought back.


Hasselblad 500EL/M

This is the first Hasselblad SLR space camera and it was equipped with a HC3-70 prism viewfinder. It was used for the first time at the Apollo-Soyuz flight in July 1975.


Hasselblad ELS (Space)

The ELS is a modified 553 ELX, with flash metering removed and leatherette replaced with thin metal plates. This camera was used in the early 1990´s on the Space Shuttle missions. The film magazines use 70 mm perforated film and are equipped with electronic data imprinting, enabling the recording of time and picture number for each exposure.

203s-2Hasselblad 203S

This space camera is a focal-plane shutter camera based on the standard 203FE version. It is equipped with a special version of the Winder CW. The film magazines use 70 mm perforated film and are equipped with electronic data imprinting, enabling the recording of time and picture number for each exposure. Since the computers onboard have full control over the position of the shuttle it is fairly easy to identify over which spot on the earth the picture was taken.

Camera model
Exposure time
Exposure mode
Auto exposure Manual exposure Auto bracket